Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Fancy Appetizer: Shrimp Alexander February 19, 2013

I have been a cooking machine lately.  My goal of one new recipe a month has been blown out of the water.  February isn’t even over and I’ve made about 5 new things!  Last week for Valentine’s Day Dave and I decided to forgo going out to a nice restaurant and stay in and make a fancy meal of our own.  Since we didn’t have to tip a waiter we decided to treat ourselves to steak and shrimp from Whole Foods.

Little side note:  When I got to Whole Foods, they had this signage up.  I thought it was very appropriate given our plan.

vday sign

Dave asked if I could try and replicate Shrimp Alexander- a Morton Steakhouse appetizer.  We ate at Morton’s about 3 years ago for an anniversary dinner.  The only thing I remember was the inebriated couple next to us telling us we should get married ASAP.  Dave remembers the shrimp…go figure!  I started typing it into Google and this blog post by Stephanie at CopyKat Recipes was the first on the list.  An hour after Dave asked me about it I got an email from him with the exact same link in it.  Guess that was my shrimp recipe!

Luckily it was very easy!  Here are the ingredients which I have halved {approximately…sorry you can never have enough garlic!} because I asked for 10 shrimp which turned out to be about half a pound:

*        2 ounces melted butter or margarine

*        1/2 pound jumbo shrimp

*        1 cup plain bread crumbs

*        2 teaspoons finely minced shallots

*        1 teaspoons finely chopped parsley {I used dried}

*        1 tablespoons finely chopped fresh garlic {I used the minced from the jar}

Here are the steps I took.  They are slightly different than Stephanie’s recipe, but it’s what worked for me:

  1.  Preheat oven to 500 degrees and spray a baking sheet with cooking spray
  2. Prepare breadcrumbs by combining last four ingredients
  3. Butterfly the shrimp- this sounds fancy but it really just means cut the shrimp down the middle
  4. Melt butter in a small container {I used the micro}
  5. Let the butter cool slightly so it is warm and not hot then dip shrimp in it and then into bread crumb mixture
  6. Place each shrimp on the baking sheet and place into the oven for 8-10 minutes
  7. Delight in how easy it was to seem fancy!

I had to take a picture of this little guy…

mini lobster

Doesn’t it look like a mini lobster?  Wish I was brave enough to make lobster!  Maybe I’ll work my way up to that someday.

 

One Response to “Fancy Appetizer: Shrimp Alexander”

  1. […] Shrimp Alexander Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti Classy Ramen Ghost Peep Smores Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one of the most popular ones I’ve ever written!} Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps Baked Zucchini Butternut Squash Soup/ Homemade Veggie Stock Southwestern Chopped Salad […]


Leave a Reply

