Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

February Project: Glitter Chevron Canvas February 26, 2013

I found this project on Pinterest.  You can find many version on there.  After reading up on a few different ones, I was going to do this project earlier in February to put out with all the Valentine’s decorations, but time got away from me {as it always does} and I felt silly making it after the fact.  I thought of something though…gold is the perfect color for St. Patrick’s Day!  You know, a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow and all of that.  I don’t think I’ve ever decorated for St. Patrick’s Day before, but hey I’m about 20% Irish so I think that qualifies me to start.

Here is what you’ll need:

Any size canvas you prefer.
T-square or ruler
Pencil with a good eraser
Painters tape
Mod Podge
Paint brush
Glitter

Instructions:

In order to have a uniform chevron pattern, you’ll need to mark it out first.  Using the pencil and T-square, create a grid that spans the whole canvas.  I drew horizontal lines first, then vertical lines, and last you can decide how large or small you’d like the zig zags and do diagonal lines by using your grid to keep all the lines straight and uniform.  This is the most thinking you'll have to do.

In order to have a uniform chevron pattern, you’ll need to mark it out first. Using the pencil and T-square, create a grid that spans the whole canvas. I drew horizontal lines first, then vertical lines, and last you can decide how large or small you’d like the zig zags and do diagonal lines by using your grid to keep all the lines straight and uniform. This is the most thinking you’ll have to do.

 

Use painters tape to block off every other chevron stripe.  This took a lot of patience and tape.

Use painters tape to block off every other chevron stripe. This took a lot of patience and tape.

 

Now you can use your paint brush and go to town with the Mod Podge {or whatever type of glue you wish to use}.  I decided to continue the chevron on the sides as well so I had to make sure to get the glue on the sides as well.

Now you can use your paint brush and go to town with the Mod Podge {or whatever type of glue you wish to use}. I decided to continue the chevron on the sides as well so I had to make sure to get the glue on the sides as well.

 

Place a newspaper or some sort of protective surface under the canvas and sprinkle {more like dump} the glitter on the glued areas.

Place a newspaper or some sort of protective surface under the canvas and sprinkle {more like dump} the glitter on the glued areas.

chevron 046

Shake it off! Let it dry for a bit and then remove the tape- the most gratifying part!

Look at all that tape!

Look at all that tape!

 

 Use that good eraser to get rid of the lovely grid you made before {and try to ignore that I haven’t done that step yet.  I don’t have a good eraser in the house and I don’t want to smudge my canvas} Admire your lovely new piece of art!

Use that good eraser to get rid of the perfect grid you made before {and try to ignore that I haven’t done that step yet. I don’t have a good eraser in the house and I don’t want to smudge my canvas} Admire your lovely new piece of art!

 

4 Responses to “February Project: Glitter Chevron Canvas”

  1. Katie Rose Says:

    Looks awesome!

  2. […] scheme.   I kept the next shelf neutral with a snow covered branch and lantern along with the glitter chevron project I did awhile back.  And on the top shelf I put a tree with mercury ornaments, a glittery silver […]

  3. […] Glitter Jars Glitter Chevron Canvas Easter Centerpieces Quote Posters Vintage Soft Tees Blanket Crate- Hmm just realized I never posted […]


Leave a Reply

