Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps March 12, 2013

My sister and her friend came over this weekend to organize some spaces for me.  Not they didn’t lose a bet, they are practicing organizational skills for a possible future business.  It was a win-win.  I fed them lunch and they helped me organize some messy unorganized spaces.  In order to prepare for them I browsed Pinterest trying to figure out what to make for lunch on Saturday.  It’s not too often I get to make a nice lunch, because people usually are over for dinner.  I found some pretty good ideas, but Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps sounded tasty to me and I only needed to buy two ingredients for it so it was the winner!  Here is the recipe I found by Robyn at Add a Pinch.  My photos and my adaptations are included below:

Ingredients for 4 Servings:

2 chicken breasts-cubed
olive oil
½ onion- diced
¾ cup mushrooms- diced
1 celery stalk- diced
2 cloves garlic- minced
handful shredded carrots
½ cup buffalo sauce
Iceberg lettuce leaves
blue cheese and/or ranch dressing

The main change I made was adding carrot and celery to the chicken mixture instead of having them as a topping. I also increased the amount of mushroom and buffalo sauce in the dish. After I ate the dish I decided diced tomatoes might have been a good topping to add at the end. I’m learning deviating from a recipe is okay to do.

buffalo chicken 024

First step was to defrost my chicken {I always do this ahead of time. I absolutely abhor the idea of defrosting in the micro}. I diced the chicken, added some olive oil to the pan and let it cook for about 10 minutes, stirring it along the way.

buffalo chicken 023

In the meantime I cut up all my veggies. You can see I used red onion. I did this on purpose because I think it has a stronger taste than white or yellow onions.
{You can see my Kindle in the background helping me with the recipe!}

After the chicken is done cooking, add the next 6 ingredients {all the veggies and the sauce}.  Let these cook together for about 10 minutes on low heat.  While the mixture is cooking I took the opportunity to tear lettuce leaves off the lettuce head and get out the dressings.  I also set the table so the girls would be able to eat right away and then get to work on the messy linen closet and my horrendous desk.

buffalo chicken 025

The wraps turned out to be pretty tasty {if I don’t say so myself} and the girls did a magnificent job on the spaces they organized.  Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of the before or afters but perhaps  can get those from them and post at a later date.  They really were pretty impressive and I’m glad I got a chance to use their services before they start charging high prices!

buffalo chicken 028

 

2 Responses to “Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps”

  1. cassie Says:

    Might I suggest you through a dinner party now!

  2. […] Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one of the most popular ones I’ve ever written!} Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps Baked Zucchini Butternut Squash Soup/ Homemade Veggie Stock Southwestern Chopped […]


Leave a Reply

