Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Free Learning March 19, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:46 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Nov dump 005Did you know you can take a college course online for free?  I didn’t either!  Check out this site  and you will see for yourself.  Here is what Wikipedia has to say: Coursera is an educational technology company founded by computer science professors Andrew Ng and Daphne Kollerfrom Stanford University. Coursera works with universities to make some of their courses available online, and offers courses in engineering, humanities, medicine,  biology, social sciences, mathematics, business, computer science, and other areas.

I checked out the website, and learned that there are currently 62 schools partnering with Coursera and over 100 different classes offered right now.  Dave suggested we take a course called, ‘Know Thyself’ together.  The course is taught by Mitchell Green who has been a philosophy professor at University of Virginia since 1993.  We both signed up and are learning about what self knowledge is.  So far I’d say it’s very interesting.  I thought it would be a bit out there or too abstract for my tastes, but just the opposite—there are history lessons and quizzes with actual correct answers, not just essay writing which I was afraid of.  The class will last a total of ten weeks.  This is week three and each week Mitch posts two video lectures broken down into a few videos.  Then he posts a quiz and you have until the end of the course to complete the quiz.  I decided to keep up with the quizzes and take them in the week it is posted.  But that’s just because I know if I get behind I’ll be less inclined to keep up.  Technically if you had a super busy week you could complete the learning and quiz the next week, or even do it all at once near the end of the course.

I’m really pleased that Dave found the site and asked me to sign up with him.  I do think it helps that he is also taking it because we can talk about it and bounce thoughts of each other.  It’s almost like a running partner or gym buddy.  It seems easier to do because he is doing it too.  Anyhow you should check it out.  Think about how much these courses cost normally and here you are able to learn for free!  There are lots of different topics and I’ve even started planning what class I want to take next.  It’s been quite awhile since I was in school and it’s nice to learn formally again.  Dave found a few other sites that provide free learning.  Here is a list for you to check out:

I’d be interested to know if anyone decides to sign up for anything.  Please share if you do!

 

 

2 Responses to “Free Learning”

  1. kathleen Says:

    thank you kelly! i think i’m going to take introduction to guitar because of this!


Leave a Reply

