Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

4 Hours to Kill in Minneapolis March 26, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:23 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Last week I took Thursday and Friday off work and Dave and I headed up North to Minnesota to attend a friend’s wedding.  We hung out in the Dells Thursday night and then had some time in Minneapolis on Friday before we met up with everyone.  Dave did research on cool places to visit and surprise (!) we ended up at 2 breweries.  We had a good time so I thought I’d share our itinerary in case you ever have some time to kill in Minneapolis.

Dangerous Man- located at 1300 2nd St NE, Minneapolis, MN 55413

It opens at 4pm on weekdays so be careful not to arrive too early.  We arrived 15 minutes early and popped into a few shops around there.  We met some interesting characters which makes sense because after all we apparently were in the art district. Sorry art people, I still love you!

MN 042MN 040
There was a line outside the door at 4 when they promptly let us in.  We grabbed a spot at the bar and they IDed us.  Something I noticed in MN- they card very hard.  Meaning they card everyone and always right away.  Nothing wrong with it, just an observation.

MN 044

I tried the Chocolate Milk Stout and Dave had the Baltic Porter.  Later he had the Cream Ale which ended up being my favorite of the whole day!

MN 049

By the time we had these three beers the place was packed, and it isn’t a small place.  I saw a few people wait for awhile and then leave because they couldn’t wait longer.  Needless to say this is obviously a hip place and so are we for taking these photos:

MN 051MN 050

Element Pizza- located at 96 Broadway St. N.E. Minneapolis, MN 55413

This place is a little small, but don’t be fooled by that.  It is delicious and only a two minute walk from Dangerous Man.  They cook their pizza in a traditional wood fired oven.  Why did people ever stop doing this?  We ordered two salads {the house garden salad’s dress is delicious.  I loved it so much I was using the crust to soak up the extra on the plate} And had a half cheese, half sausage pizza.  I swear I could have eaten the pizza by myself I loved the crust so much!  The only photo I managed was the oven because I was too busy eating myself silly.

MN 052

Indeed Brewing- located at 11 15th Avenue NE, Minneapolis MN 55413

This place is tucked behind a residential area in a brick alley.  I felt kinda cool knowing that it was there.

MN 054

We walked in and got a seat at the bar and I proceeded to try the day Tripper American Pale Ale.  I’m sorry to say I didn’t like it in the least- only because it was crazy hoppy.  Dave tried the Stir Crazy Winter Ale and I liked it better, but still just not my style.

MN 058

They don’t serve food in the bar, but there is a food truck called Simply Steves that smelled great.  Too bad we just ate all that pizza.  I would recommend coming here hungry.  Before we left we played a game on the shuffle board which brought me back to The Dockside in Torch Lake, MI where they used to have one of these boards.  It has sand on the table and you slide the metal pucks and try to get it in a certain area on the board for points.  It was good nostalgic times for me and also I beat Dave.

MN 059 MN 060

It was fun to check out new places and feel cool and hipster while we visited.  If you ever have some time to kill in Minneapolis I suggest you check these places out!

 

3 Responses to “4 Hours to Kill in Minneapolis”

  1. asteifer Says:

    Glad to see you enjoyed your little trip in our state! Hope you can come back sometime again and try a few more places; definitely need to return to Indeed, you may have missed the mark for your preference, but the ones that DO fit different people’s tastes are fantastic.
    And oh, people haven’t stopped doing the Wood-fire cooking; I suggest you try hitting up “Black Sheep” next time you’re up here. Definitely one of our best pizza places.
    I still need to stop by Dangerous Man myself, hopefully the wait won’t be too long for me.

    • Uncharted Says:

      Thanks for the recommendations Andrew! I saw your blog is about food trucks. Know of any good ones in Chicago?

      • asteifer Says:

        Sad to say no, my specialty is Minnesota, though I certainly wouldn’t mind spending a weekend there to find out! (Plus I want to go to i-Cream so bad…)


Leave a Reply

