Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

DIY Motivational Quote Posters April 16, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:04 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I didn’t tell you about last month’s craft/project I did yet.  Part of the reason is I haven’t finished it fully yet, but I’m going to go ahead and share it anyway because I’m excited.  Our company recently moved to a new-to-us office and so my space is a bit of a blank slate.  I did go ahead and buy the huge Paper Source calendar I was obsessing over as soon as it went to ½ off.  I’ve had multiple people Oo and Ah over it so I feel it was worth the price.  Each month is a different vibrant color.  What I really need now is some art on my walls.

Paper Source Craft Calendarince it’s a work place and I work in Human Resources, I decided to go for a motivational theme.  I searched high and low on the internet and ended up on Etsy.  I loved a lot of what I saw, but everything was a bit pricey after shipping fees.  Then I thought to myself, I can do that.  I can make a poster.

First I set to work downloading free fonts from multiple websites.  I Googled: ‘How to download and use fonts’ and a variety of instructions popped up.  I chose this one at wikiHow’s website:

http://www.wikihow.com/Install-Fonts-on-Your-PC

Then I got to work finding all the fonts I wanted to use on my posters.  I used the following sites to find free fonts:

  • Dafont.com
  • Urbanfonts.com/free-fonts
  • fontsquirrel.com

I picked two quotes and started off by writing them with normal type in Word.  I used WordArt to change the shape of words and do different layouts, fonts, and sizes within the space.  It took me a lot of fiddling around to get things how I wanted them to be.  I’m talking a few hours to do two posters.  I know….I said a lot of fiddling!  If you want things the way you want them it requires patience.  I PDFed them and now I need to take them somewhere to be printed on nice paper.  This is the part that is not complete.  I also don’t have frames purchased, but I really want to make a third poster so I have a nice grouping and don’t want to pick the frames until I see what everything will look like together.

 

I won’t make you wait any longer, here are the two posters I made so far.  I apologize, but I had to do a screen shot, because when I attached the PDF File it just puts a link to nothing.  I need to become more computer savvy!  I plan on printing the first one on some sort of colored paper, the second one is my favorite, and now I have to choose a third quote and get to work on that poster!  Any suggestions?

Poster 1 for WordPress

poster 2 wordpress

 

Leave a Reply

