Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Southwestern Chopped Salad April 30, 2013

I checked out my 2013 tracking spreadsheet the other day and was reminded that I still had a few goals to take care of for April.  A major one being that I hadn’t yet tried a new recipe.  So Saturday I pulled up my cousin’s blog, ‘Bake Away Girl’ and started perusing.  As the name suggests, she does a lot of baking, but she also likes cooking and since baking isn’t my strong suit I decided to try out a few of her savory dishes and forgo the baked goods.  I like her blog a lot because she is so passionate about baking and cooking.  And take it from someone who has enjoyed some of her creations…they are all made with love which makes them taste that much better!

The one I decided to try and I’ll share with you now is her Southwestern Chopped Salad.  I must say it turned out to be pretty tasty!  I did make a few tweaks, so if you want to use her recipe you can find it here.

Ingredients:
1lb steak cut into strips
1 taco packet
watter

Salad:
1 can yellow corn, drained and rinsed 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
½  green pepper
5-6 chopped green onions
2 Roma tomatoes, diced
2 fresh avocados, diced
1 head of red lettuce, chopped or shredded

Dressing:
½  cup (6oz container) plain Greek yogurt
¼  cup mayo
½ tablespoon taco seasoning
½ tablespoon ranch seasoning
Spritz lime juice

1.  Take whichever meat you’ve decided to use and cook it along with the taco seasoning according to the directions on the package. {I decided on steak because I am sick of chicken and I planned on trying her Chicken Gyros later in the week.}  Set aside.

2.  Meanwhile you can prepare all the salad items:
Open the corn and beans and rinse these with cold water in a strainer.  Add to a large serving bowl.  Cut up the green pepper, green onions, roma tomatoes, and avocado {I did not use cilantro although her recipe calls for because it makes me feel sick.}  Add all of these to the bowl.

postin 4.30 1009

3.  I spritzed some lime juice in the bowl to stop everything I just cut from browning and stirred it up.  Set aside.

4.  Chop up some lettuce!  { I choose a red leaf lettuce instead of a iceberg head.  It’s just my preference.}  Set aside.

postin 4.30 1011

5.  Measure and add all the dressing ingredients to a separate bowl.  Make sure it is thoroughly mixed and there are no grainy pieces from the two powdered ingredients.

6.  Take the veggie mixture and incorporate the dressing fully.  {After seeing how much dressing was yielded, I decided to only add only half at first.  It ended up being enough dressing for me so I saved the rest for another time.  The ingredients I’ve listed above are halved from my cousin’s recipe because of this change.  By all means do what matches your taste buds!}

postin 4.30 1013

7.  Now you can take the lettuce you set aside and add that to the mixture.

8.  Serve right away with your prepared meat of choice on top.

postin 4.30 1015

Doesn’t this look delicious?  I was even able to save some left overs for lunch the next day and it kept pretty well.  I don’t think you could eat it after that though, it would be too wilted and brown.  All and all I’d say its a pretty healthy meal.  You have a lot of protein {greek yogurt and steak} and a ton of veggies.  The only questionables are the mayo and season packets, but those are mostly just spices.  You could home make those if you don’t like the idea of processed food.  This recipe is definitely a keeper for my line up.  I’ve already added it to a recipe card!

 

One Response to “Southwestern Chopped Salad”

  1. […] Shrimp Alexander Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti Classy Ramen Ghost Peep Smores Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one of the most popular ones I’ve ever written!} Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps Baked Zucchini Butternut Squash Soup/ Homemade Veggie Stock Southwestern Chopped Salad […]


Leave a Reply

