Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

May Flowers! May 6, 2013

(10) Plant my garden (and flowerboxes)

I crossed another thing off my list of 28 goals for 2013! Hurray!

When Eric and I first bought our house, it looked like a jungle outside. There were random bushes and trees everywhere that were unkept, half dead or overgrown. We spent an entire weekend last year tearing almost everything out, cutting off dead limbs and creating a blank canvas so we could do our own thing with the yard. Unfortunately, it got too late in the year to do much else, so we waited.

 

Before

Clean Slate

 

Nothing but the perennials

Nothing but the perennials

Now THIS year, I got to plant my garden. Before buying my plants though, I had to do some research. We have a lot of wildlife in Barrington: DEER, rabbits, squirrels, raccoons, fox, etc. and each of these animals have their favorite plants they like to eat, so I had to spend a lot of time researching what I wanted to plant and what needed to get stinky anti-animal spray. Here’s what I came up with:

Hydrangea (low risk of being eaten)

Marigolds (keep rabbits away)

Daffodils (these are already in because they are perennials, but I kept them and nobody eats them)

New Guinea Impatiens (low risk of being eaten… and they spread so they’ll fill in a whole section) – side note on these – we heard the regular impatiens are actually not going to do well this year because of some plant disease… that’s why we went with the New Guineas

Daisies (good in the sun)

Rononuculas (sp?) (I know nothing about these, except that I liked the way they look!)

Celosias (Eric loves these)

Hedge of Boxwoods

So after 2 full days of gardening, everything is planted and ready. Now I just have to remember to water them! What are your favorite flowers? Any tips on how to keep my garden looking sharp?

Amazing difference!

Amazing difference!

Flowerboxes!

Flowerboxes!

 

 

Leave a Reply

