Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza May 14, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 8:57 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I don’t know what it is with me this month, but I’ve been trying lots of new recipes.  Perhaps it’s the fact that it’s finally warm around here and the Farmer’s Markets are opening.  There are always so many vegetables I would never buy at the grocery store that seem much more appealing at the market.   The latest recipe I tried was pizza on a portabella mushroom.  Gasp! No crust!  Believe me you won’t miss it.  Mushrooms are very hardy and more than make up for the missing bread.  Below are all the steps I took along with photos of most every step- I’m a visual learner myself so I always try to take pictures along the way.

Ingredients:

Portabella mushrooms
Pizza sauce
Toppings of your choice {I used Tomatoes, green onion, kielbasa sausage}
Cheese of your choice- sliced or shredded { I used provolone cheese slices}
Oven set to 375°F

First things first.  You need to remove the stem and gills from the mushrooms.  Gills are the thin papery like pieces on the underside of the mushroom.  You can leave them there, but they get mushy when you cook them.   I would recommend using a large spoon and scrap the gills off the mushroom while holding it above a garbage can.  It can get a bit messy.  Also be gentle because you can break the mushroom itself if you are too rough and then it will be harder to use for the pizza.

photo

Now place the degilled {yes I made that word up} mushrooms on a baking sheet lined with foil and sprayed with cooking spray.  You can now add however much sauce you’d like to the top.

photo (1)

Once the sauce is in place, go to town adding all the toppings you’d like to your pizza.  I did tomatoes:

photo (2)

Green Onions:

photo (3)

And Kielbasa sausage {not a traditional topping, but it’s what was in my fridge.  It turned out pretty good!}:

photo (4)

Then I added a slice of provolone cheese.  I find slices give much more coverage and are less messy than shredded cheese.  Plus they work perfectly for a mushroom because they are both round.  You can use whatever you like best.

photo (5)

Sorry its so blurry, its the only cheese picture I took

Throw these in the oven for 20-25 minutes and your dinner is ready!

photo (6)

 

One Response to “Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza”

  1. […] Alexander Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti Classy Ramen Ghost Peep Smores Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one of the most popular ones I’ve ever written!} Buffalo […]


Leave a Reply

