Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Beer Under Glass 2013 May 22, 2013

A bunch of us attended Beer Under the Glass again this year.  It’s year number two for Dave and me, year three for another couple, and year one for all the rest.  No matter how many times you’ve been, it’s a great time.  The one major improvement for me from last year to this year was the lack of crutches!  Last year I had my bunion surgery the month before the event.  Anyone who has been to the Conservatory can agree that those small little paths are no place for crutches.

signbuilding

The set up was very similar to last year.  You walk in after they scan your ticket and they hand you a map of the place along with a taster glass and {this year} a page of tickets.  We were a little surprised about the tickets because we couldn’t remember being limited on the amount of tastes the year before, but it turned out that the people at the beer stations weren’t really even collecting them so you weren’t limited at all.  The beer and food stations were scattered all throughout the inside and outside portions of the Conservatory.  Last year the food ran out quickly so that was my main priority as soon as we got there…eat food!  They seemed to have a lot more food available than the last year so I probably could have been calmer about it.  I don’t do well with hunger.  I just wanted to ensure I wouldn’t be hangry.

flowerglass

As for the beer, I had two favorites- number one was by Pig Minds Brewing Company and of course I don’t remember the name.  It had something to do with vanilla.  Sorry!  My second favorite was a Black Walnut Dunkel by Perennial Artisan Ales.  Yay I remembered one!  I’m not really a beer fanatic, as you can see, but I had a very good time and enjoyed getting to hang out with many friends and do some people watching.  Oh! And when we left at the end of the night, there were food trucks outside. Genius!

mask

This guy served our tamales…how could you say no?

Here’s to another fun year and to hoping we can get tickets for year #3!

 

One Response to “Beer Under Glass 2013”

  1. Thank you so much! We’re so glad that you liked your visit to Beer Under Glass and enjoyed the bites to eat and brews available.

    We appreciate your praise and hope that you visit us at GPC often!


Leave a Reply

