Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Healthy Fries? August 21, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 12:22 am
Tags: , , , ,

Sunday I tried a new recipe I’ve been meaning to try ever since my lovely friend Hollice gave me a cookbook with recipes listed by the vegetable.  Zucchini Fries!  I thought they would have a slimy texture, but I tried them anyways and I was pleasantly surprised.  In fact it was a great way to sneak an extra vegetable into my dinner.  The best part is they are super simple to make.

First step is to wash and cut the zucchini into fry size pieces.  I tried to keep them pretty similar in size so when I baked them they would cook the same.  I cut the whole zucchini into thirds, sliced those in half so they look like half moons, and then I cut them lengthwise to make a rectangle shape.

cut Z

I cracked two eggs, splashed in a little milk and beat them together.  Then I placed bread crumbs, parmesan cheese, and a few spices- pepper, oregano, and sea salt into a shallow pan and got to work dunking each zucchini fry into the egg and then roll it in the breadcrumbs.

dippingI preset the oven to 425 and sprayed a pan with oil and arranged the fries on there.

ready to bake

I baked them for 30 minutes, flipping them after 15 minutes.

Out of the oven

I was worried that they would taste plain and need some type of dipping sauce, but they were delicious on their own.  I will say I thought they were better hot out of the oven rather than later once they had cooled.  Try it out sometime.  It’s super simple!

 

One Response to “Healthy Fries?”

  1. […] post is one of the most popular ones I’ve ever written!} Buffalo Chicken Lettuce Wraps Baked Zucchini Butternut Squash Soup/ Homemade Veggie Stock Southwestern Chopped […]


Leave a Reply

