Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Ghost Peep S’mores October 29, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:27 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m getting into the Halloween spirit this year.  I haven’t been at my current company during Halloween yet, but we are celebrating tomorrow and I’m pumped.  I heard that a lot of people usually dress up which is why I’m excited.  At my last company I always tried to get people to dress up and every year there would only be about five of us!  Oh and there is a potluck so there is bound to be delicious food to eat all day long.  I searched on Pinterest for an idea of what to make that had a Halloween theme.  Some of the ideas I found were too good, which means they disgusted me.  I mean who wants to eat something that legitimately looks like a bony finger or a brain?  Sorry not me!  Luckily I found this little gem on Mary’s blog ‘Home is Where the Boat is’:  S’more Brownies made with ghost Peeps!  It’s such a fun twist on a s’more and the little ghosts are so cute!

This recipe is pretty easy to put together.  The part that scared me the most was the graham cracker crust, but it turned out to be a cinch!  I pretty much followed Mary’s instructions to a T, but I thought I’d share my pictures with some instructions of my own.  Feel free to click on her blog name above to be taken to her post.

You will need:

ingredients

8×8 buttered pan
1 ½ cups Graham Cracker crumbs
2 tbs sugar
1 pinch salt
8tbs/1 stick of butter
Brownie mix of your choosing
1 egg
1/3 cup water
1/3 cup vegetable oil
Ghost Peeps
mini chocolate chips

1.  Start off by setting the oven to 350 and buttering your pan like so:

butter

I used the stick I would soon be melting for my crust to save myself some trouble

2.  I set the pan aside and mixed together the first 3 ingredients in a glass bowl.

3.  Once those were mixed, I placed my stick of butter in a glass bowl, cut it up a bit and melting it in the microwave at 30 second intervals.  I made sure there were no lumps left and then poured the melted butter into the graham cracker mixture.

sand

Graham Cracker Mixture with Melted Butter

This is the part I was afraid of.  Mary didn’t have any pictures for this step and I really didn’t know what to expect.  I thought it would be hard to combine the melted butter with the dry ingredients, but thankfully I was wrong!  It ended up combining really well.  It’s like the consistency of damp sand.

4.  I poured the graham cracker mixture into the buttered pan and used a metal spoon to flatten it down into a crust.  Again this was super easy and I was relieved at how I didn’t mess it up!

crust

5.  The flattened crust went into the oven for 10 minutes.

6.  While the crust was baking, I combined the next four ingredients to create my brownie batter.  Please note that you may have different ingredients for the mix you choose to buy.

7.  Once my timer went off and the crust was out of the oven, I poured the mixed brownie batter into the pan.  Lucky for me the brownie mix I bought still required the oven to be at 350 so I popped it in right away and set the timer for the specified time on the box.

Oven view

Can you tell how much I like the brand new oven at my new place? It has a window and a oven light! Don’t laugh…my last oven was pathetic!

 8.  Once the timer was done I removed the pan and turned off the oven.  I then grabbed the Ghost Peeps and started placing them on top of the brownies.  Careful the pan will be hot still.

ghost line up

*Please note this is a bit different than Mary’s recipe- During the last couple minutes of her brownies cooking, she sprinkled chocolate chips to adhere the ghosts to the brownies.  I didn’t have enough chips to try that, but I’m sure they will still turn out okay.  The other thing to note is I fit more ghosts on my s’mores.  3 rows of 5 instead of her 3 rows of 4.  Whatever fits for you, just thought you should be prepared with extra Peeps if you need them.

9.  I turned on the broiler in the oven and set the pan inside.  This is where the oven window and light came in real handy.  I watched those ghosts every moment to make sure they weren’t burning!  You do really need to stay near the oven this whole time.  It maybe took my ghosts a minute to brown up.

Once you take the s’mores out of the oven, you’ll notice that their cute little faces have melted away.

faces gone

Tear!

10.  But that is where the mini chocolate chips come in.  Just place three on each ghost, 2 for eyes and 1 for a mouth and you are all set!

done

I can’t wait for people to try these tomorrow at the potluck.  Now it’s time to get my costume ready!  Maybe I’ll add a picture tomorrow so you can see what I dressed up as.

 

3 Responses to “Ghost Peep S’mores”

  1. joydavis234 Says:

    I’m a freelance journalist for the Beacon News and I do the Blog Log each week, where we feature a blog in the Fox Valley area and the writer of the blog. Your blog caught my attention and I think it would be a great fit for the newspaper. If you’re interested, I’d like to send you some questions that you can answer at your earliest convenience.

    Thanks,
    Joy Davis

    Joydavis234@gmail.com

  2. […] Alexander Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti Classy Ramen Ghost Peep Smores Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one of the most popular ones […]


Leave a Reply

