Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Love for the Bride November 7, 2013

As many of you readers have probably gathered by now, I was in a few weddings this summer.  It just so happened that some friends near and dear to my heart were all getting married within a few months of each other, and I had the honor of being a bridesmaid in 3 of their weddings.  As a bridesmaid, I wanted to do something special for my friends who were getting married.  I had come across a pin on Pinterest that was entitled “Letters to the Bride.”  I checked it out, and decided that I wanted to revamp the idea to make it something super special.  Now ladies, I know that you’re focused on seeing your soon-to-be-hubby as you walk down the aisle, but let’s not forget that your girls loved you first and we’ll love you forever, and we may just want to remind you of that 😉  Here’s how my reminder worked…

I sent each lady in the wedding party, plus the mother of the bride and the mother of the groom a packet.  That packet included:

  • 2 plain 10×10 pieces of scrapbook paper in 2 of the wedding colors
  • 2 8 1/2×11 pieces of patterned scrapbook paper to use as decoration in another one of the wedding colors
  • a scrapbook-safe Elmer’s glue stick
  • Some accent piece adhesives (flowers, pearls, jewels to get the ladies excited and thinking glitzy!)
  • This letter (tailored to each Bride & Groom) explaining what each lady was responsible for

I tried to send them out at least 2 months in advance of the weddings so that people would have time to do them and not feel stressed by this extra little project.

In the letter I requested that people either mail their 2 pages (one with a letter to the bride, and one of pictures with the bride) back to me or bring it the evening before the wedding to the rehearsal dinner so I could put them all together.  I had purchased basic 10×10 page scrapbooks in corresponding wedding colors from Michael’s with a 20% off coupon for each bride.

When the books were presented there was gut-busting laughter, there were tears of sentimental happiness, and there were hopeful feelings of friendships continued as the bride said “I do.”

IMG_5271

IMG_5268

I also added photos accumulated of the brides with all her special ladies for a few fun photo collage pages at the end of each book

I also added photos accumulated of the brides with all her special ladies for a few fun photo collage pages at the end of each book

IMG_5272

 

Leave a Reply

