Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

And I’m Back! November 13, 2013

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 11:11 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Uncharted readers, it’s been a while. But I’m glad to say I’m back. Two major life milestone occurred in the last few months which hasn’t left me time to write. The first one happened on Friday, September 13, 2013. Yep, Friday the 13th. On that day fellow blogger Kelly and I parted ways after living together for five years from our apartment in Oak Park. Why? The reason for the move was caused by the second major milestone which I’ll blog about next week. I know, I’m such a tease!

Many of the posts you read on Uncharted took place or found inspiration in our apartment. In fact, you could even say this blog idea came to Kelly  and was developed around our dining room table. There are too many favorite memories to list (because I had an amazing roommate and awesome friends) but I’ll try to whittle it down to a few.

  • New Year’s Eve parties – from planning annually to remembering where we put the decorations the year before.

  • Finding out what is acceptable to have on the kitchen counter and what is not – apparently a tomato should go in the refrigerator at all times.

  • Random craft afternoons spreading out more paper than two people should have in one household.

  • The Blizzard of 2012 – actually finding snow in our first floor front landing.

  • Roommate date night – combine a home cooked meal with Say Yes to the Dress and you have a perfect girls night in.

  • Refinishing furniture in the dining room/outdoor porch – mostly Kelly reminding me to refinish outside or else.

  • Rocking out in the kitchen with fellow blogger Sarah when we first moved in.

  • Rushing home to tell Kelly all about my first date with my future husband.

We could not have found a better space for both of us. We spent five amazing years together and we’re still friends! Probably one of the most luckiest things that happened on the move date, was not having Kelly there. If she were, I think I would have cried the whole time.

I’m so glad I convinced Kelly that we could live together. To this day I remember signing our first lease which was locked in at two years and us both saying two years was such a long time and we didn’t know if we wanted to be locked into that timeframe. Low and behold we locked ourselves in for another three years! There is nothing I would change about my time spent in Oak Park, nor would I change our apartment – it spoiled us rotten on living space! But life moves on and my new adventure started with lots of boxes and a new place to call home with my husband.

Finding New Room in the Lombard House

Finding New Room in the Lombard House

The Oak Park Apartment

The Oak Park Apartment

 

Leave a Reply

