Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Ziti or no Ziti November 20, 2013

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 12:34 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The holidays are on their way, and I am already nervous about how busy I will be.  Not only is it busy because of the actual holiday celebrations, but with my line of work it’s just the way things are every year.  The other day I was surfing Pinterest and found a great recipe that is easy to make and can be made in a large batch so you have leftovers, or even freeze half of it for a meal when you have no time to put one together.  I’m positive this will come in handy during this very busy season!

Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti/Penne (if the store doesn’t have Ziti!)

Ingredients you’ll need along with my notes:

image

8 ounces uncooked pasta (I used penne since Trader Joes didn’t sell Ziti)
2 tsp oil (I used olive)
1 red bell pepper chopped
2 cubanelle peppers chopped (didn’t know what this was so I substituted mushrooms!)
1 medium onion chopped
12 ounces Italian sausage (they suggested links, but then later you have to cut them all up so I just did ground sausage)
1 cup ricotta
1 ½ cups shredded mozzarella
¼ cup parmesan
¼ cup parsley chopped (didn’t have this on hand so I didn’t use it)
2 cups marinara sauce

First preset the oven to 400 degrees.  Boil some water and cook the pasta as you usually would, drain, and set aside.  I cooked the pasta a little less than usual since it would be cooked more in the oven and I like my pasta a bit firm.

While the pasta is boiling, heat the oil in a pan, brown the sausage and add the onion, pepper, and mushrooms near the end (again I don’t like soggy I like firm so I didn’t want these to cook too long).

image_1

In a bowl, mix the ricotta, 1 cup of the shredded mozzarella, and 3 tbs parmesan (also add parsley here if you’d like).  Incorporate the cheese mixture in with the drained noodles and 1 cup of marinara sauce.  Place the meat mixture in the (greased) pan, then combine the noodle mixture with the meat.  I did it this way because my bowl was too small and you are actually looking at all of my counter space.  What can I say?  I have to get creative!  You can just mix it all together at once if you want.

picstitch

Notice my trusty Kindle by my side every step of the way to help me with the recipe!

Pour remaining 1 cup of marinara on top and then sprinkle with what’s left of the parmesan and mozzarella.

image_5

Slide in the oven for 20 minutes or until the whole thing is bubbling.  I decided to serve with a green salad to balance out the meal:

image_6

Notice the lovely ottoman I must use as a table since I haven’t found a coffee table I like yet!

This meal was the definition of comfort food.  All that delicious cheese is to blame!  A perfect meal when the weather starts getting cool.  The original recipe can be found on Women’s Day right here.  Honestly this made a lot of food and next time I would either cut the recipe in half or put half in a container in the freezer before baking the rest.    Then you could defrost the frozen one and bake a little longer than the 20 and have a whole meal ready to go.

 

One Response to “Ziti or no Ziti”

  1. […] Alexander Sausage and Pepper Baked Ziti Classy Ramen Ghost Peep Smores Portabella Mushroom Cap Pizza Lazy Cake Cookies {this post is one […]


Leave a Reply

