Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Festive Sea Breeze Cupcakes November 24, 2013

I know, it’s the end of November.  You’re probably thinking I’m being a big tease by posting about beach-themed cupcakes.  You’re right, I am.  And you may not recreate these cupcakes until next June, but I’m going to share them with you anyway.  Perhaps you can transport yourself right to sunny beaches in your daydreams while baking.

My friend and coworker Becky is getting married this winter in Mexico.  She has chosen a festive and unique color scheme of teal and coral for her wedding colors.  A few weeks ago I attended a wedding shower for her, and had offered to make a dessert for the teal and coral-themed beachy event.  The bride-to-be’s favorite cakes are chocolate and red velvet, so I decided to trade the festive red for some ocean blue velvet in these sea breeze cupcakes.

Blue Velvet Cake:

  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. plain yogurt
  • 2 tbsp. blue food coloring
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3 c. flour (2 1/2 if you’re not baking in high altitude like I am here in Colorado)
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt

Preheat the oven to 350.  In a standing mixer, combine eggs, oil, yogurt, sugar, food coloring, and vanilla.  Add the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt until it’s all combined and there are no clumps.  Divide your batter evenly among 12 cupcakes and bake for 25 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting (you can half this recipe if you don’t need all the decorative frosting for your beachy cupcakes and are just doing them with a basic amount of frosting for taste):

  • 6 oz. unsalted butter
  • 8 oz. cream cheese
  • 4 c. powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Beat the butter, cream cheese, and vanilla together until smooth and combined.  Add your powdered sugar cup by cup, blending until everything is creamy.

Once I baked my cupcakes, I frosted half of each one with the plain cream cheese frosting.  I dipped that half in graham cracker crumbs to make them look like little sandy heavens.  I colored the remaining cream cheese frosting with just a touch of blue food coloring to keep them light blue and classy, just like those gorgeous clear blue waves Becky will be dipping her toes into in Mexico!  I put all my blue frosting into a large ziploc bag, though you can use a frosting bag if you have one.  I cut the tip off the bag and replaced it with a large star-tip frosting piper to frost the wavy half of the cupcakes.

Image

With a little cocktail umbrella stuck in the sand of each cupcake, you’re ready for your teleport to paradise, even if it is only for a few indulgent bites.

IMG_6045

 

One Response to “Festive Sea Breeze Cupcakes”

  1. […] friend Laura, and I were talking about a fun thing we could gift Becky (whose shower I baked the Sea Breeze cupcakes in the last post for) and her fiancee for their wedding shower.  Melanie had mentioned that she […]


Leave a Reply

