Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Giving Back In Unexpected Ways December 4, 2013

Before things get too crazy with the holidays I wanted to give back something special. I started growing out my hair for a nice updo at my wedding. From July of 2012 to September 2013 my hair grew about 6 inches. Not too shabby but not quite enough to donate. So for the next few months I let my hair continue to grow. Until this weekend.

There were two main non-profits I looked at to donate my hair. One was Locks of Love and the other was Pantene Pro-V’s Beautiful Lengths Campaign. After talking to my friends who have donated in the past, as well as my own research I decided to go with Pantene Pro-V. 100% of their wigs go to women with cancer.

On Friday I set off to Floyd’s in LaGrange. My hair stylist Ashley asked what I wanted to do, and I explained the big chop for a donation. She was very excited and I think a little more nervous for me than I was! She grabbed a ruler and confirmed that I had 9 inches to donate and began cutting.

Here’s the before and  after pictures.

Before

Before

Back

Back

After!

After!

Back

Back

I’m so glad I decided to donate my hair before the length drove me bonkers. Plus, I know it’s going to a good cause.

On an unrelated hair note, another way to give back this time of year is donating your time. This past Monday night, my husband and I spent almost two hours at our church sorting donations for an event called “Christmas Sharing”. Christmas Sharing has been going on for over 40 years in the Wheaton Warrenville suburbs of Chicago. The entire community of schools, churches, civic groups, libraries and businesses in the area collect food, gently used clothing, and toys to be distributed to families in need identified by school social workers.

Matt and I had a great time meeting fellow members at our church and sorting through clothes. We enjoyed a few laughs of old styles and trends. It was the first day of sorting so it feels like we barely made a dent, but our group got all the coats organized in one room, all the shoes in another and made excellent headway on adult clothes.

I’m sad that I’ll miss the big distribution day, to meet the families in need and see their excited faces. But, I do hope to bake a few batches of cookies to donate to help make up for the loss of not being there. Plus, I can always look forward to next year!

During this time of year being able to do things like donate my hair and help out a non-profit organization warms my heart. Because I believe one person can make a difference from a lock of hair to spending time folding clothes.

 

One Response to “Giving Back In Unexpected Ways”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I love your new hairdo! Plus to think about what that donation of hair will mean to someone who has suffered is amazing.


Leave a Reply

