Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Christmas Cookie Marathon December 9, 2013

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 9:58 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m one of those fortunate people who grew up with a mother (and aunts) who loves to bake. And not only do they like to do it, but they are darn good at it too. I often joke that a meal isn’t complete without dessert… I mean, how else do you know it’s over?

Well every year my mom and aunts would each make hundreds of Xmas cookies – which included all of ours favorites: “Finger Cookies,” “Styrofoam Cookies,” “Kiss Cookies,” “Snicker Surprises” and more. They’d get together, swap cookies and then make sampler plates for their neighbors. As I grew up, I came to realize that our neighbors waited anxiously all year for their cookie plates… often commenting they wouldn’t mind a few more of their favorites. Of course, my mom still gives me a plate every year, now that I’m grown and living in my own house… but this year I decided to dork it up a bit and make my favorites for plates for MY neighbors. What an undertaking!

I planned for 6 of my favorite cookies and to make enough for 5 plates (and to keep a couple for us). I started my marathon with my favorite, the “Finger” cookies. My spirits were high, hoping to get all of them completed by the evening so I could deliver my cookies plates that evening. Here is the recipe, should you decide to make them:

2 c. unsifted flour

1 c. butter softened

1/2 c. sifted confectioner’s sugar

1 t. vanilla extract

1 T. shortening

2 c. chocolate chips (semi-sweet)

Preheat oven to 350. In large bowl, combine flour, butter, sugar and vanilla. Mix until thoroughly blended. Shape into 2″ logs (which resemble fingers). Place on ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Cool completely. Melt chocolate chips with shortening for 2 minutes on high in microwave. Watch chocolate to ensure that it does not burn!

Dip cookies in the melted chocolate and allow to cool completely.

Well, needless to say, my marathon lasted all day… and by the end, my legs were tired from standing, my hands hurts from rolling, mixing and cleaning and I was beyond crabby. I only messed up one of my cookies (in fairness, it’s a hard one to make because it’s a mint meringue) but I finally got my cookie plates out to my neighbors, who all really appreciated them. Hopefully my neighbors will enjoy the cookies… and understand that this will NOT be an every year occurrence! 🙂 Eric even joked with me, “Next time someone brings a plate of cookies to us, I am going to be extra appreciative!”

Christmas Cookies

Ready for delivery!

What are your favorite Christmas cookies?

 

Leave a Reply

