Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

2014 Goals for Happiness January 20, 2014

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 12:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Last year, I decided to copy Kelly (copying is the highest form of flattery, they say) and make a list of 28 goals for 2013. I’m so thrilled I was organized with my list and kept it in front of my face all year long so that I could continually work on achieving them. This year, I’ve decided to change up how I do my goals to not only make them more manageable and less daunting, but also create a little more organization. Recently I’ve been reading, “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin and am incredibly inspired by her and her story (I highly recommend this book). Basically, Ms. Rubin takes a look at how she has been living her life and makes specific goals to focus on for each month of the year. The goals are supposed to increase her overall happiness. Her book not only provides honest and candid feedback on her successes and room for improvement, but she also weaves in research from studies that support her theories on happiness.

So here we go: my list of goals for 2014, January – June. The second half will come later after seeing how I do!

January – Get Healthy

Drink at least 8 glasses of water per day, Get back into Yoga (go once a week), Eat fruits or vegetables at every meal

February – Explore

Travel to a place I’ve never been, Take a vacation, Plan camping trip for summer, Try something new

March – Learn

Take a class to learn something new and unexpected, Learn how to use my new camera in MF Mode

April – Save

Meet with financial advisor for investment portfolio, Create 5 year financial plan

May – Have fun

Go to a White Sox Game (my favorite!), Plant a garden, Discover new interests

June – Reflect

Refocus my energy into something positive, Do something thoughtful for friends/family, Keep a journal, Take time to smell the roses and appreciate little things

 

Ideas for how to achieve some of these are definitely welcome! What goals do you have? What kinds of things do you do to achieve them? I’d love to hear from you.

 

2 Responses to “2014 Goals for Happiness”

  1. February = Denver &Vail! Have you ever been to Denver?? I know you haven’t been to Vail, but will it be a double whammy to increase your happiness levels of exploration that month?!

  2. I’ve been to Denver, but not Vail!! PLUS, I’ll be taking a vacation! 🙂 Can’t wait to EXPLORE Colorado with you! -Kate


Leave a Reply

