Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Healthy Side- Baked Broccoli Fritters January 21, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:58 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

After all that aspiration updating and setting I started thinking about how I could achieve more aspirations than I did last year.  I realized that part of my problem is that I am very gung ho when the year starts, but near the end of the year I’m avoiding thinking about my progress because I feel like I’ll never get it all done.  In January I am excited about the ideas I had and I get to work on them right away.  This is especially evident if you look at my spreadsheet I created to track all the different goals I have.  Already this year I have 3 new recipes I’ve tried and my aspiration is to just try 1 new thing!

Since we are on the subject of recipes I will share my favorite one so far.  It was one I had pinned for a long time and when I noticed it I thought. ‘Why have I never made that before?’ I finally went to take a look at the site it came from which ended up being a blog called Stacey Snacks.  The instructions were super easy so I got to work on making my own…Broccoli Fritters!  The main ingredient is broccoli which I don’t usually love, but they involve cheese so they can’t taste too healthy.  This was my logic and I was pretty spot on.  If it sounds good to you here is what you will need to make them for yourself:

ingred

  • 16 oz. package of frozen chopped broccoli, thawed and drained of liquid {I used a 14.4 oz bag and I was just fine}
  • 1 cup of seasoned Italian breadcrumbs {I only had plain on hand so I added some Italian seasonings}
  • 1 1/2 cup of grated cheddar cheese
  • 3 eggs
  • salt & pepper to taste

This is so simple I don’t even need to write out steps for you.  I can just show you a picture:

stepsLiterally just measure out all the ingredients, mix them all together, and then place some parchment paper on a baking tray and form patties with your hands.  I will say I was a little afraid at this step because the patties weren’t forming very well.  In fact I felt like I had too much brocoli and I used less than the recipe I was going off of.  Let me assure you everything was okay and the patties became more solid once baked a bit.  Place the tray in a preheated 375 oven and set the timer for 15 minutes.  Flip at that time and then bake for 10 more minutes.  Mine were much lighter than Stacey’s looked so I added on another 5 minutes or so.  Here is the end result:

done

I tested them on Dave and he gave them his approval.  I am thrilled to add this recipe to my regular rotation of sides.  I feel it can be a carb and a vegetable at the same time, a two-for-one if you will.  Considering I usually just make salad as the vegetable for dinner this is broadening my horizons.

 

2 Responses to “Healthy Side- Baked Broccoli Fritters”

  1. The Editors of Garden Variety Says:

    Oh this is awesome. I think the hubby would try them. I will make them soon and let you know.

  2. […] Baked Broccoli Fritters Zucchini Pasta Shrimp Pasta Egg Sandwich Fast Chicken Fajitas Cinnamon Biscuits Fried Rice .4. Write and post a on the blog every week […]


Leave a Reply

