Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

January – Get Healthy Update February 3, 2014

My own personal quest for happiness is off to start – maybe not a great one, but it has started… which is certainly better than sitting around and being lazy in 2014. So now it’s time for an update – January’s goals had me thinking healthy. Ultimately, the goal is to lose these unforgiving 20 lbs that I have put on since I graduated college… but let’s be honest – the real issue here is that I eat way too many things that don’t add nutritional value, and I’m approaching an age where I need to be thinking more about being healthy and getting nutrients in my body than ever before. My goal to get healthy in January (or at least start my journey) was composed of several smaller more attainable goals (Rome wasn’t built in a day, and I can’t drop 20 lbs in a month). One such goal was trying to eat a fruit or veggie at every meal. I’m going to be blunt – this did not happen. I still ate meals of pizza where there were no brussel sprouts on the side. I also worked my tooshie off counting glasses of water per day so that I could get 8 glasses in. I highly recommend you give this 8 glass of water a day a try because my skin was looking fabulous and I was eating way less because I was so full. It also gave me more opportunities to get up and walk in our office because I had to get up to go to the bathroom so often.

So overall in January, I did pretty well – I dropped 2 lbs, I’m looking and feeling leaner already and I’m being more conscious about what I’m putting into my body. And on that note, I have the most fabulous and easy recipe for a fruit filled dessert that I am dying to share. So maybe it’s not the HEALTHIEST thing on the planet, but it sure was delicious.

Take a pineapple and cut it into bite size pieces. Then melt some chocolate (I used the ones from the Jewel near the strawberries where you can just stick the cardboard container in the microwave and the chocolates are in little disks that melt very easily. Then add a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cayenne pepper (yes you read that right!) and stir. Dip your pineapple pieces in the chocolate, sprinkle with a couple grains of sea salt and let it cool. Voila! Chocolately, spicey goodness. And its got fruit in it! Hope you enjoy this delicious treat and thanks to my friend Hollice who introduced me to it!

 

Chocolate Covered Pineapple

Chocolate Covered Pineapple

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

