Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Zac Brown Band February 10, 2014

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 12:23 pm
Tags: ,

A couple posts ago, I mentioned my first half of 2014 Goals for Happiness… here is February:

February – Explore

Travel to a place I’ve never been, Take a vacation, Plan camping trip for summer, Try something new

So anyone who knows me knows that I am a music fanatic. I am constantly listening to music, finding new artists and styles that I like, playing piano, etc… but I’ve never been much of a concert go-er. I’ve been to symphonies, operas and yes, the occasional visit to Ravinia to hear somebody play, but concerts, particularly ones with very popular bands are not my thing. I think it’s the combo of ridiculously loud music with lots of people bumping into me. Anyway, a couple of week’s ago, my husband surprised me by getting us Zac Brown Band tickets to their show in Rockford, IL. I literally was screaming and dancing around our house when I found out because they are my favorite!

Last Friday, we attended my very first real country music concert… and I am HOOKED. Granted, I mostly only want to follow Zac Brown Band around on their tour because they put on such a good show. Here’s something to keep in mind if you hold tickets to one of their upcoming shows: these guys are ridiculously talented, but not just with country music! They played all our faves, but they strayed quite a bit to play some different sounds… like Metallica. There were several “heavy metal” sounding songs in the line up, along with some classic country songs and they even played Billy Joel’s Piano Man. Needless to say, the crowd loved it.

I might also add that their set lasted for 2.5 hours. Now I’m not an expert, I can’t say much as an authority on the subject, but from what I hear, most bands don’t play that long. They also threw in some free t-shirt sling shots and gave away the guitar Zac was playing all night. The cherry on top was that they donated $1 per ticket to their charity Camp Southern Ground (https://www.campsouthernground.org/).

I can’t recommend you check these guys out on tour enough and I’m so glad that I gave a country music concert a chance. Sometimes it is so nice to try something new – you never know how it’s going to go, but you may just find something new that you love!

Zac Brown Band

Playing Billy Joel

 

Leave a Reply

