Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Oh Snap! A Camera Strap! February 11, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 10:39 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

This is such a fun DIY and different than most of my projects.  I don’t usually do much work with fabric, but once I saw these lovely camera straps I just had to create them.  The day after I saw them on Pinterest and read Natlaie’s tutorial on Design Love Fest I went to the store to pick up the supplies.  I actually put them together in January but hadn’t mentioned them yet because I had to gift them first!  Two of my friends have fancy cameras and I just had to make these for them.  My favorite part about these is that you can design them to fit your style.

The materials needed are:materials

Fabric Glue
Needle & Thread
2 Swivel Hooks
1 Yard Cotton Webbing
Painters Tape
Acrylic Paints

  Notes on the materials:

*Decide the colors you want to use.  I chose a black, turquoise, and gold {which actually turned out looking like a  mustard color}
*You should decide how much cotton webbing to use based on how long you want your strap to be. A yard isn’t mandatory.

Start off by taping the strap into a design you’d like.  Remember whatever area you tape over will remain the color of the strap, the rest is where you’ll paint.  I wanted the strap to be symmetrical when it was hanging around a neck, so I folded it in half so the strap was side by side and mimicked the design.

design 2

I created one striped strap and one chevron:

design

Once all the tape is in place, start painting!  My straps were done drying after about 30 minutes, but I waited 2 hours just to be sure.  Then I removed the tape.

paintingpulling tape*
*
*

*

*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
*
Now you can grab your swivel hooks, thread the ends of the strap through and use the fabric glue to secure the strap to itself.
Thread a needle and sew a couple stitches just to be sure the strap will be secure {I chose a thread that would match my turquoise paint so it would blend in nicely}.  I also put clips right where the glue was and left these overnight to make sure they dried right.

swivelThat is it folks, you now have a lovely camera strap so you can keep your camera safe  and sound when you are
out clicking away…like my friends Lei and Chris here who sent me a photo of their camera strap in action!

leilei

 

One Response to “Oh Snap! A Camera Strap!”

  1. […] February-Camera Strap & Valentine Heart Boxes […]


Leave a Reply

