Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Aspiration #21- Halfway There March 4, 2014

I am a little obsessive about taking photos.  Just take a look at my phone.  I have over 1,500 photos currently on there.  The problem is what to do with all of these so they don’t just sit in my phone?  Here is one of my solutions…

Each winter for the past four years, I have attended a scrapbook retreat with a few friends.  Retreat sounds a little cheesy but honestly it’s basically just a weekend you go and work on your scrapbook.  You stay in a hotel, bring all your scrapbooking supplies, utilize the tools they provide, maybe take a class, and oh yeah…eat all along the way!  The whole weekend is hosted by a company called Heart and Soul Memories.  The price is pretty reasonable and the more people staying in your hotel room (up to 4), the lower your overall price is.  My friend Peg from college is the one who first invited me and I’ve enjoyed going ever since.  To tell you the truth it’s the only time each year that I actually scrapbook.  It sounds weird, but when I’m at home I don’t want to take out all the stuff required to put together just one page.  When I go there, I don’t have any interruptions and can leave everything right where it is each night- they lock up the room so all your supplies and work is safe.  It’s really the perfect set up for me.

It took me some time to learn how to best prepare for one of these weekends.  My first time there, I quickly realized that I was way under prepared for the experience.  I showed up not even knowing what layouts I was going to do!  In comparison, this year I knew what I was scrapping (my trip with my sister to NYC last May), knew each layout I wanted done (I brought along a list), and had all the pictures from my trip edited and printed ahead of time.  Beyond the scrapping piece, it’s also important to pack comfy clothes.  I do not wear anything except comfy clothes until the Monday after the weekend.  It’s a bit like an unwritten rule.

nyc layout

Aspiration #21 this year is: Complete a scrapbook of my trip to NYC in 2013 with my sister.  I regret to inform you that I did not finish the scrapbook, however out of the 24 layouts I aspired to complete, I finished 12 layouts and 22 pages (a layout is capturing one event and a page is just what it sounds like…one sheet of paper). This is amazing for me, I usually move at a glacial pace when scrapbooking, so I was pretty proud of myself.  I should share that I used a Smashbook to scrap this trip in.  Smashbook is a brand name by K & Company and they describe it as, ‘the act of sticking your cool stuff into this awesome book.’  Instead of trying to explain, I’ll just show you some of my pages so far:

doughnut planet

photo 1

photo 2

I didn’t finish on the retreat so I’ll need to convince myself to scrap at home so I can finish.  Only 12 layouts to go, I’m halfway there!

 

One Response to “Aspiration #21- Halfway There”

  1. […] love the part I did complete, but the title of my post about this says it all: Halfway There….and I never did scrap anymore this […]


Leave a Reply

