Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

The Liebster Award March 4, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — Uncharted @ 5:43 pm
Tags:

Image

Thanks to Sarah’s dear friend and blogger pal, Brittany, Uncharted was nominated for the Liebster award!  The Liebster award is given to blogs that have creative genius and less than 300 followers to get their name out there.  Thank you, Brittany at perpetuallydaydreaming.com for nominating us, we are honored!  Since there are 4 authors here at Uncharted, we decided to split up the questions and all answer a couple blogging-targeted questions.  To answer the 11 questions Brittany posed for us…

1. What has been your favorite place to travel to and why?

Kelly- It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I suppose if I must choose, it would have to be Italy.  I went to Rome and a couple other countries in Europe on spring break 2004.  It just dawned on me that it was 10 years ago!  How scary!  All the countries were interesting but Italy was my favorite because the food was amazing, there is a lot of interesting history to check out, and I am part Italian so it felt special to be there.

2. What are your favorite date night (or day) activities?

Kelly- Most of my date nights with my boyfriend consist of dinner and a movie…not very exciting.  The other day we went snowshoeing on a day date and we had a great time!  My other favorite day dates are brunch with my cousins or girlfriends.  Who doesn’t love a good brunch?

3. What beauty product can you not live without?

Kate- I have recently discovered Clinique’s CC cream, which has quickly become a favorite. I had to watch videos on how to apply CC cream correctly, but since I’ve been using it, I feel like my skin is nice and even and kind of glows. I learned that these types of creams are really great for your skin too, with SPF, anti-aging benefits and more. Anyone who knows me knows that I am obsessed with great skin and I will always do my best to take care of mine. I highly recommend it.

4.  What are 3 things on your bucket list?

Kelly- hot air balloon ride, learn to make Nana’s Italian gravy or red sauce, & experience weightlessness

Sarah- take a yoga class, write a book, & swim with dolphins

Karla- go to a country I haven’t visited, try downhill skiing (I’ll need a pep-talk for that one!), & climb a 14-er (my husband does, I might as well join him for one)

Kate- Go skydiving (Ok so this one is probably on a lot of people’s, but I love to do things to conquer fears… so I did it my senior year of college with a friend in one of my math classes. It was terrifying and incredible and now I feel like I walk around carrying a secret that only skydivers know. Jumping out of a plane was by far, the craziest thing I have ever done), write a book (I love to write and to have a completed book out there would be incredible. Still working on a story though!), & learn French (I took a couple intro classes in college, but recently purchased one on a CD so I can listen during my commute to and from work. I think French is a beautiful language and I am absolutely obsessed with the French lifestyle. Maybe someday I’ll get an apartment in Paris!)

5. What are your favorite TV shows right now?

Karla – current favorites include Parks and Recreation, Downton Abbey, Duck Dynasty and Sherlock. However, thanks to Netflix, I’m catching up on a few oldies but goodies including Cheers, Chuck and MI5. As you can see I’m a sucker for comedy and pretty much anything with action and is British.

6. What’s one thing you’ve learned about blogging since you started?

Kelly- It would helpful to write a few posts ahead of time to you have something to post if something comes up, not that I’ve followed this advice or anything.

Sarah- Blogging is an adventure and can really teach you more about who you are as a writer and person.

Karla- Being a faithful writer. When we first started Uncharted, having time to write was more plentiful. Over the years new things in my life have made it more difficult to be a diligent faithful writer. It’s a good test considering things only get harder as we grow up and take on new responsibilities. Remembering to take the time and write so I can reflect on my experiences is a gift. It helps me to remember my new memories, most of the time memories of people I love. Keeping that mindset definitely encourages me to be a faithful writer.

Kate- It’s a much more esteemed/highly regarded job/hobby than I thought. At first I thought it was just people posting an online journal, but there is so much more to it, and not just from a getting your business found on the internet aspect. People are networking, sharing ideas and thoughts and I absolutely love it. It’s like belonging to a community!

7. How do you decide what to blog about and where does your inspiration come from?

Kelly- I use my everyday life as inspiration and I basically decide what I’m going to write about the day that I post it!

Sarah- My inspiration comes from all the fun, pretty, yummy, polka-dotted things in the world around me.  Seriously, anything that makes me smile I figure might be worth sharing to see if it can spread that happiness.

Karla-My inspiration comes from things that I want to share with people. From books to read, recipies to try and places to go. I love to try new things and I want to share my experiences with the world. We all have stories to tell and blogging is one way for me to share part of my story.

Kate- I try to think of projects or things I have done/am working on that people would maybe want to hear or learn about. Even if it’s just sharing something I did and it inspires someone to do something similar or provides a different perspective on things. Sometimes it’s hard though and I don’t have much to share that I think people will care about. My inspiration comes from Sarah, Kelly and Karla, who are all so much more creative than I am. when I read their posts, it reminds to be more mindful of some of the fun or creative things I am working on and considering them a fun project as opposed to a lot of work!

8. How would your best friend describe you?

Kate- I almost went to Hollice to ask her this, but then reconsidered because (1) she’s kinda busy on her honeymoon and all and (2) it’s more fun to imagine what she’d say first. I’m pretty sure she would describe me as someone who is smart, ambitious and ridiculously uptight, though on occasion, I can be silly and have fun too. My best friend is someone who balances my need for everything to be perfect and appreciate life’s imperfections. I hope she would also say that I am very loyal and will always be there for a friend when they need me because I feel like we have been through a lot together and are always by each other’s sides.

9. What is your favorite recipe to make?

Karla- One of my favorite TV chef’s is the Barefoot Contessa. She’s so personable and her recipes all taste delicious! A few years ago, my husband and I started our own Christmas meal tradition. We wanted to incorporate foods that neither sides of our families usually prepare and chose to use lamb. After scouring the internet for options, I went to my trusted Barefoot Contessa and found the makings of a perfect meal. Here are the links to the Hein Christmas Meal, enjoy! 
Lamb – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/rack-of-lamb-persillade-recipe.html
Potatoes – http://www.barefootcontessa.com/recipes.aspx?RecipeID=867&S=0
Asparagus – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/roasted-asparagus-with-hollandaise-recipe.html
Dessert – http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/fresh-lemon-mousse-recipe.html

10. What is your favorite quote and why?

Sarah- “Today you are you, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is youer than you.” Dr. Seuss coined this quote, and I chose it because I have this one on the wall of my classroom and think in this day and age it’s important for us to all remember that who we are is unique and special.

11.  Who is your style icon?

Sarah- Audrey Hepburn, but I bet you could have guessed that.  Classic elegance.

We are nominating some blogs that we enjoy reading and adventuring with…

If you bloggers choose to accept the Liebster Award from us, here are 11 questions we’re anxious to see your answers to:

1.  How did you chose your blog name?
2.  What is your favorite book, movie, and song of all time?
3.  What is your favorite holiday to celebrate and why?
4.  What is the funniest thing that has ever happened to you?
5.  If you could be any animal, which would you pick and why?
6.  If you could pick a food that depicts your personality, what would it be?
7.  What’s the best get healthy tip you’ve been given and does it really work?
8. If you could give your 14 year old self advice, what would you say?
9. Have you ever done something you were afraid to do and it turned out you loved it? What was the activity and do you still do it today?
10. List two items off your own bucket list.
11. Where is your favorite place in the entire world?

And don’t forget to come up with your own 11 questions to ask a few new bloggers you’d like to nominate to pass the award on to!

 

Leave a Reply

