Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Jewelry Display Board March 11, 2014

I am very excited to share this project with you.  I got the idea from my sister when she moved into her new apartment.  She put together her new bedroom and wanted a place to display her jewelry so she’d know what she has.  Anyone else have that issue?  You don’t know what you even own?  I am guilty of that, so my interest was piqued when I saw her fabric covered bulletin board as a jewelry display.  It took me awhile to get my act together, but I finally did and now I want to show you how to make your very own jewelry display board.

Items needed:

Bulletin Board in the size you prefer.  I used 3ftx2ft
Fabric of your choice
Hot Glue Gun
Glue Sticks
Steamer
Lint Roller
Push Pins

This is actually a super simple project.  The hardest part for me was picking a fabric I liked.  I looked for at least an hour in a fabric store and when I finally found the one I wanted, it was only available in quilting squares.  In the end I found the exact same fabric in an Etsy shop and had it mailed to me.  When I received my fabric it was nicely folded in the package, but this meant wrinkles which I didn’t want to show up on my board.  So I grabbed my mini steamer, draped the fabric over my shower curtain and got to work steaming out all the wrinkles.  I think this step is important and once you glue the fabric you really can’t go back and do this so I suggest you take the time.  If you don’t have a steamer you can use an iron {I bought my steamer so I could avoid ironing forever!}.

Once the fabric was wrinkle-free I laid it out on a clean flat surface.  I turned on my glue gun to get it heated up.  Then I unwrapped the board from its packaging and laid it in the middle of the fabric.   I proceeded to wrap the board with the fabric as if it were a birthday present while using the hot glue as I went along.  See my photo below to see what I mean:

steps

It doesn’t have to look beautiful in the back because that part will be hidden.  They key is to make sure all the sides are taut before you glue.  You don’t want the fabric to sag later when you hang or stand up the board.  I flipped mine over once it was done and of course it was covered in cat hair so I grabbed my lint roller and removed all the unnecessary fur.

lint

Look at all that gross cat hair!

Then it was time to get to work displaying all my necklaces!  I opened up the wooden set of pushpins my sister gave me for Christmas {aren’t they cure?} and started playing around with an arrangement that would fit everything.  After awhile I was pretty happy with how it looked so I stopped messing with it and declared the project done.  You’ll notice I ran out of the pretty wooden pushpins near the bottom and had to use the classic red, blue, and yellow pushpins.  Hopefully I can find some more wooden ones so the whole board matches.  The only issue is now that I have a way to display necklaces, and I’ve already created an earring organizer, it has become clear to me that I need a way to display bracelets.  I’ll add it to the list of projects!

set upjewels

finished

 

One Response to “Jewelry Display Board”


Leave a Reply

