Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Aw Skeet Skeet! March 24, 2014

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 8:43 pm
Tags: , , ,
Skeet Shooting

After a round of skeet!

On my list for March is to learn something new and boy did I last weekend!

I recently changed jobs and now work as a Marketing Manager at a Country Club. Our country club is amazing too, not only for working there as an employee, but also to see what kinds of fun activities we offer our members. One of the coolest things about our club is that we’re the only place in this part of Chicagoland that allows you to legally fire a gun… at our skeet shooting range!

Below is the definition of skeet shooting from Wikipedia:

Skeet shooting is a recreational and competitive activity where participants, using shotguns, attempt to break clay disks automatically flung into the air from two fixed stations at high speed from a variety of angles.

Now I realize that this may seem like a man’s sport, but I still had to give it a whirl, so I went to our last day of the skeet season (golf starts soon!) and took a couple lessons. Here are some of the things I learned that I didn’t know:

  • When skeet shooting, you fire a shot gun. No worries about hitting houses on the golf course though because the “bullets” only travel about 50 yards.
  • Normally when you a fire a gun, you close one eye to get better aim, but in skeet shooting, you keep both eyes open because you need your peripheral vision and depth perception to hit a moving target.
  • A round of skeet includes 25 shots. Targets come from a high house and low house. Turns out, I can only hit targets that come from the high house, no matter which platform I’m standing on in the range.
  • At some stations, you yell “Pull” for each target, at others, more than one come flying out. Ahhh!

Overall, I had a great time learning a new activity, and I didn’t do too bad either – 10/25 targets, all high house! I’d certainly give it a try again and recommend it to anyone, guy or girl.

Ever tried an activity that scared you at first, but turned out to be pretty cool after you tried it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

