Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Beers & Budapest March 25, 2014

This weekend Dave and I had a double date planned with our friends Peg & Jeremy.  We all wanted to go see the new Wes Anderson movie- The Grand Budapest Hotel.  It isn’t playing at every theater, but we found it at the AMC in Lombard.  We needed a place for dinner afterwards and have been wanting to try The Sweet & Savory Spot in Westmont since we visited there for a coffee earlier this winter.  While we were there last time we heard about Urban Legend Brewing Company from the owner so we planned to visit there too.

We started off the double date by going to see The Grand Budapest Hotel.  The story wasn’t bad but I found it a bit hard to follow at times.  Wes Anderson’s movies make me feel like I’m in a dream and this one is very pretty to watch.

grand budapest

After the movie we headed over to the Sweet & Savory Spot in Westmont so we could finally eat dinner there.  We ordered some beers- they have a great list of craft beers and we started with the Pulled Pork Fries.  These were really tasty and if you order them be sure you have plenty of people to share with you because they give you quite a large bowl.  For my main dish I ordered The Wurst Burger Ever- which was a bratwurst in burger form and was quite delicious with some grilled onions and a mustard sauce. {Last time we were there the owner Shane told us that they make all the sausage there so of course I wanted to try it }  After dinner we only had to drive down Cass about 2 miles and find Urban Legend Brewing.

urban brewing

The tap room is located in an industrial building, but they have plenty of signage so you can’t miss it.  They had 6 beers on tap and they had a great deal- $9 for a flight of 4 beers!

urban brewing kel and peg

Flight Time!

I had at least a taste of each one and I liked all of them except one that was a strong IPA- I just can’t learn to like those.  I was very happy we finally got to try out another local beer.  My favorite one was the cream ale.  I highly recommend you take a visit over there and try all of them!

 

Leave a Reply

