Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Wedding Recap: Attire March 26, 2014

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 8:44 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Almost six months ago I answered a pretty big question with the phrase “I do”. Many readers followed along with a few wedding project updates but I didn’t want to spoil every bit of the big day. Well now I figured I can definitely blog about it! Over the next month I’ll be posting about different facets from our wedding. From the colors to attire, to the vendors, our print materials, gifts and of course the decor!

To give a little background our wedding color theme was yellow, navy blue, gray, and white. How did we tie everything together with the attire? It was actually very simple. Let’s start with the guys. They wore rented light gray Calvin Klein suits with white shirts from the Men’s Wearhouse. I think they turned out rather dapper.

mattkarlawed404

Matt wore a special pair of suspenders he found online that where navy and maze in honor of his favorite collegiate team. In honor of his favorite team, I also gave him a pair of Michigan dress socks to avoid any cold feet.

mattkarlawed088

Wanting to recognize our grandparents, Matt wore one cufflink that was my Opa’s and one from his grandfather.

mattkarlawed082

Also, as part of our thank you for being part of our big day we gave the guys navy blue suspenders (Sears’s), lego cufflinks (Etsy) and skinny navy ties (Dessy).

mattkarlawed601

I purchased the ties from the same place we ordered the bridesmaid and flower girl’s dresses so everything would come from the same dye lot. Which is a perfect segway to the ladies.

We found the bridesmaid dress in one day and we actually found it at the same place where I purchased my dress.Thanks to my savvy matron of honor, we called around though to find who carried the dress at the best price. It’s amazing that there was a $40 difference between 8 stores! The dress is part of the Dessy collection and I fell in love with the fabric, color and overall cut of the dress. It was sophisticated with a twist of fun in the back. Did I mention everyone looked great in it too? The girls wore silver shoes and silver accessories. I did help with some jewelry though. My girls received simple earrings featuring white sapphires and a yellow diamond.

mattkarlawed371

As for me, I found my dress at Bella Bianca with my mom, mother-in-law and matron of honor. It’s from the Lazaro collection and is a beautiful satin ball gown with a sweetheart neckline, encrusted band of Swarovski crystals at the natural waist and has pockets! The pockets were my favorite feature of the dress followed by the high twirl ability factor.

mattkarlawed016

To help a good cause and stay comfy all night I wore a pair of ivory grosgrain women’s shoes from TOMS.

mattkarlawed027

Jewelry was gift from one of my bridesmaids since she is a talented jeweler. (She even set my engagement ring AND created my wedding ring!). For my big day she made an absolutely stunning pair of blue sapphires with white diamond accented earrings and a matching necklace.

mattkarlawed041

Wanting even more bling, I purchased a crystal broch conterted to a hair comb on Etsy.mattkarlawed044

As a fun accessory we also gave everyone wayfarer sunglasses. Don’t we look like a sharp group? Huge thanks to our amazing photographer, Tasha from Redwall Photo for capturing gorgeous detail shots throughout our day!

mattkarlawed424

 

Leave a Reply

