Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

My New Love: Terrariums April 1, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:25 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

This past weekend I finally got to visit a little store in the Ravenswood neighborhood called Alapash.  I’ve wanted to make it out there since this past summer when I saw their booth at the Renegade Craft Fair.  The owner, Marco, sells terrariums, succulents, air plants, and other lovely home items.  I found this quote from him on Yelp for why he named his store Alapash.  I just think this idea is beautiful:

Some time ago, back home in Peru, a friend and I used to go through wonderful magazines filled with amazing pictures of places all around the world. These pictures were like little windows, escapes from the everyday routine, which would transport us to places of pure tranquility, and luxury. We called these places and moments “alapash”

alapash

I started following Alapash on Instagram (@alapash) and every time a pretty terrarium was posted, I would think, ‘I need to get to that store and buy one for myself!’  I want plants in my apartment, but it is difficult with the kitties around.  They usually sniff them out and take them down {unfortunately I mean that literally}!  I figured a terrarium might be safer since it’s mostly encased in the glass sphere.  Hopefully I haven’t jinxed myself and Harlo & Stella won’t discover my favorite new purchase.

alapash 2

Anyway, on Saturday I lured Karla and Lei there after we had brunch at the Birchwood Kitchen in Wicker Park.  Birchwood is super mini inside, but it was obviously popular because it was packed!  We gave them a phone number and skipped across the street to the little bakery there, Oak Wood.  We shared some coffee cake which was delightful and by the time we were done we got the call to go back to Birchwood.  We enjoyed fresh juice, teas, mochas, steak & eggs, and breakfast sandwiches.  We all agreed the food was great and the people there were super nice even though it was crazy in there, which I appreciated.

birch

After we were finished we drove 3 miles North to Alapash.  Lei was with me at Renagade so when I mentioned going she was all over it and Karla was happy to oblige us.  I got both a small succulent planter and a terrarium and Lei picked out a terrarium for herself too (I think Karla was behaving herself that day).  Marco was very accommodating and switched out a rock I didn’t quite like and made sure I was happy before packaging everything up.   I couldn’t wait to get home and find the perfect spot for my terrarium.  It was actually the push I needed to restyle all my shelves in my living room.  There were still some winter items out and this was the perfect opportunity to change over to spring décor.  It took me forever, but I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out.

shelf

Marco explained to me that the terrarium only needs to be watered once per month and gave me a little dropper to help out.  I marked my calendar on the 15th of every month so as not to forget.  {PS- If you wait until March to buy a calendar from Paper Source, you’ll get 75% off.  I love their calendars and besides this chalkboard one pictured, I also have the big craft paper one in my office.  I refuse to pay the original price of $30 for a calendar! However, $7.50 is much more manageable.}  I’m already wanting to go back and get another terrarium.  I guess there are worse things I could go crazy over…right?

calendar

 

 

One Response to “My New Love: Terrariums”

  1. What a great post!! I love your blog as well! Here’s my recent #fortheloveofsucculents post (http://helloscarlettblog.com/2014/04/01/spring-succulents/). Enjoy. 🙂


    Emory


Leave a Reply

