Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Lamb Cake for Easter April 15, 2014

Easter is just around the corner and you know what that means!  Well it could mean a couple things, but in this case it means Lamb Cake!  Sounds kind of gross if you don’t know what I am talking about, huh?  It is not a loaf of meat, it’s just cake baked into a mold that looks like a lamb.  When I was little, my Nana would come over to our house around Easter time and bring her lamb baking mold and my sister and I would help her bake the lamb and decorate it with white frosting and shredded coconut.  This was kind of a big deal because she did not traditionally bake {the women on my mom’s side cook, but baking is not a strong suit}.  We’d add black jelly beans {ew} for eyes and tie a little ribbon around its neck.  I remember always feeling sad when we cut the cake and then giggle about the fact that we were eating the lamb’s butt.

Last year when my dad was moving, I noticed the lamb cake mold in the ‘Donation’ pile.  I rescued it and decided to keep it so I could make a lamb cake myself.

mold

My Lamb Cake Mold

I searched my favorite inspiration place {Pinterest} for specific lamb cake recipes and also cute ways to decorate.  In my searching I found this website called Mid Century Menu.  There is a whole section for lamb cake recipes in Ruth’s navigation bar.  When I embarked on this search I didn’t even realize there would be a collection of vintage cake recipes in store for me.  On top of it all, Ruth did all the work by testing all the different cakes on her husband Tom.  I plan on using her favorite: The Renalde Lamb Cake.  Wish me luck because as I referenced earlier, I’m not well known for my baking skills.  Next I searched for a few options for decorating the lamb.  Here were the one’s I liked best:

choc curl lamb

~Chocolate Curl Lamb by Martha Stewart~

 

brown lamb

~Chocolate Lamb with White Frosting by Birds Party~

naked lamb

 

~Naked Lamb by Amuses Bouche~

The Martha lamb is very nice, but I think the chocolate curls will be a little too time consuming for me.  I also love the naked lamb that Amuses Bouche has on their site, but I’d like it to be more than a plain cake.  That leaves the Birds Party lamb cake, which I like the best, but want to try the new white cake recipe I found on Ruth’s site.  I think I am going to do that cake recipe and add chocolate frosting so it will be a brown lamb!

 

One Response to “Lamb Cake for Easter”

  1. Aren’t these cakes great! They really should be served at parties, too. Hope you can check out my blog post on Lamb Cake: http://wp.me/p4coOx-60
    Happy Easter! Annabelle


Leave a Reply

