Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Traveling to New Places August 19, 2014

I took a business trip last week and while some people might not be excited about a trip to North Dakota and Minnesota, I was thrilled to visit a state I’ve never been to (ND) and have a chance to get out of the hustle of the big city and into the more relaxed small town life.  It took me 2 flights, a 2 hour layover at MSP { By the way, the MSP airport is honestly the nicest most up to date airport I’ve ever visited as far as my memory goes.  The bathroom I used when I got off the plane made me feel like I was at a spa.  Although compared to O’Hare, maybe anything would impress me?}, a 1 hour conversation with a terrified flyer, and a 1 hour drive before arriving at my hotel.  The hotel informed me that they didn’t have my room available {uh oh!} but they did have a nicer room and would that be a problem?  Oh, what a pleasant surprise!  The event that evening was a dinner held at Bagg Bonanza Farm.  I fell in love the minute I turned onto the ‘dirt’ road.

baggBy the way when I mentioned that once at the venue, the locals laughed at me and told me it wasn’t a dirt road but a gravel road.  I told them there is dust in the air with a bumpy ride so it seemed like dirt to me!  It’s a historic place with lots of history, so naturally I loved it. This was the perfect way to forget about the city and I was automatically relaxed.  We had a lovely home cooked meal there and caught up with a lot of people I’ve ‘met’ over the phone but never in person.  I had work to do the next day so didn’t see much but I was back on the farm for a bit and another home cooked meal for lunch.  I could get used to that…

My last day there I got a tour of our plant, shown around town, and took a quick trip to our nursery.  This is where the magic happens and was the coolest part of the trip for me.

Sunflowers as far as the eye can see!

Sunflowers as far as the eye can see!

How can you be stressed while you look at a field of these?  Right!  You can’t!  This was the perfect ending to my trip and made me want to go back as soon as possible.  California is next and hopefully it’s just as good of a trip.

 

Leave a Reply

