Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Halfway Baking- Cinnamon Biscuits August 26, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:55 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Do you remember the post I made back last June about Lazy Cake Cookies?  It’s the one where you use a boxed cake mix to create a delicious pan of bar cookies in no time at all!  That post is one of our most popular posts ever in the history of the blog.  Just last month our visitor numbers skyrocketed.  I’m talking over 800 views in one day alone!  I was floored and I quickly realized that most people, not unlike me, love easy baking recipes.  I am not ashamed to admit that I am not a natural at baking and I don’t even like it that much {cooking is a different story}.  At the very least, people are short on time so I decided I should share my latest lazy baking find.  By the way,  instead of calling it lazy baking, I’m going to start calling it ‘Halfway Baking.’ Sounds more acceptable, right?buns

Okay so I’ve had this short cut to cinnamon rolls pinned on Pinterest for far too long without trying it.  This recipe is on Erin’s blog called Table for Seven.  I am so thankful that she shared this recipe and pinned it!  I had purchased the roll of biscuits a while back when I first pinned the recipe and never felt there was an occasion to make it.  Until two weekends ago when I wanted to stay inside all day and do nothing.  There were not many options for breakfast and I was dreading going to the grocery store when I spotted the biscuits in the fridge.  I hurried to look up the recipe and prayed I would have everything I would need.  The only item I did not have was regular milk, but I did have almond milk {picked this up a while back after pinning a Cookie Butter Smoothie recipe still have to try this one out!} and I decided that would suffice.

Ingredients:

¼ cup brown sugar

3 tbs melted butter

1tsp cinnamon

Roll of biscuits {I bought Grands Layers}

Glaze:

1 cup Powdered Sugar

1 tbs vanilla

2 tbs melted and cooled butter

1-2 tbs milk {or in this case almond milk}

 

Start off by mixing the first 3 ingredients together in a large bowl.

Next open the package of biscuits and cut them in pieces.  I chose thirds.

Place the cut up biscuit pieces in the dry mixture and stir until all pieces are coated fully.

Grease an 8×8 pan and place the coated biscuits in the pan

Pour 3 tbs of butter over the top and place the pan in the oven for 25 minutes.

Now while that is baking you can make the glaze!

Using a wisk, mix together all of the glaze ingredients.  This part was easier than I thought it might be.  I did add 1 extra tbs of milk to thin it a bit so it would be easier to apply the glaze. 

Remove the biscuits from the oven and let them cool a little bit.  Then you can drizzle the glaze over the top and watch it melt into the crevices. 

buns 2

I served myself two servings of fruit with this so I wouldn’t feel so unhealthy.  I was probably over my sugar limit for the day after that breakfast, but hey I reached my goal of not leaving my apartment and I got some much needed rest.

boss

Needed to get a bit of reading in for bookclub!

 

One Response to “Halfway Baking- Cinnamon Biscuits”

  1. […] Broccoli Fritters Zucchini Pasta Shrimp Pasta Egg Sandwich Fast Chicken Fajitas Cinnamon Biscuits Fried Rice .4. Write and post a on the blog every […]


Leave a Reply

