Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary September 17, 2014

This upcoming weekend Matt and I are celebrating our first year of marriage. Where did the time go? We’ve had a blast traveling to new places, finding ways to up-cycle all the birch wood leftover from our wedding, combining our two households, rearranging the house, trying new recipes and restaurants, and working on our parenting skills with Porter.

Time to celebrate all of our accomplishments and our festivities started this weekend. Saturday evening we enjoyed dinner at Two Brothers Roundhouse, the same location of our wedding reception. Our meal was scrumptious! The meal started off with scallops and bone marrow garlic toast followed by the chef’s specials for our entrees. Matt ordered the duck in a ginger sauce and I ordered the trout stuffed with crab and lobster served with asparagus and rice. Our plates were literally wiped clean. And of course we had to have dessert to top off our dinner. Matt ordered the raspberry cheesecake and I ordered the flourless chocolate cake.

A while ago, Matt and I decided we would do two gifts, one for the modern first anniversary gift, which is clocks, and the other for traditional, which is paper. We decided to go shopping together for new watches and the paper gift would be up to us, with a smaller budget of course.

Sunday meant modern present time! After church we headed over to Oak Brook. Naturally we both did some research and found a lot of options we liked at Macy’s. Our first stop was the Fossil counter for Matt. He was looking for an automatic watch, which doesn’t have a battery and relies on the movement of your hand to function. He settled on this gorgeous piece. I love how you can see the gears – it’s so cool!

Automatic Fossil Watch

The next stop was the Bulova counter for me. The night before, I found a simple art-deco style watch on major discount. If there is one thing I cannot resist is a deal! And just my luck there were two watches of the style I wanted to try on left in the case. As soon as I put on the watch, I knew it was the one. It’s simple, glittery style sold me and of course, so did the price.

Bulova Watch

Both of the salespeople at Macy’s were wonderful and sized our watches accordingly. They didn’t pressure us, and were very accommodating letting us try on a few watches, compare, and take our time.

Now I just have to sit tight for my paper gift! We’ll be exchanging them on our actually anniversary in three days. I can’t wait 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

