Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Celebrating Our First Wedding Anniversary Part 2 September 24, 2014

This past weekend Matt and celebrated our anniversary in Northern Wisconsin. We had a lovely time relaxing, trying out a new brewery and restaurant, as well as playing games, shopping, and cooking. One thing I couldn’t wait to do on our actual wedding anniversary was to exchange our traditional gift of paper. Matt ordered a beautiful print off of Etsy that features a birch tree and the lyrics to our first dance.

IMG_1943[1]

Funny story…I almost bought Matt the same thing for his gift! There was a laborious decision on whether or not I should, and I’m glad I didn’t. Instead, I went with something homemade and created an “Adventure Passport”.

IMG_1886[1]

First, I created a list of 12 different restaurants and 12 breweries we’ve wanted to try around Chicago. Next, I cut in half left extra 12X12 pieces of plain white scrapbook paper. To create the book, I simply folded the cut paper in half. On the cover, I cut and glued a fun compass looking paper I found at JoAnn’s years ago to play off of the passport theme.

IMG_1884[1]

On the inside, I printed out my list as well as headlines for the two “chapters”: restaurants and breweries. Each section and item was carefully cut out and glued accordingly.

IMG_1885[1]

For the binding, I cut out two holes with a hole punch and threaded a thin white ribbon through them. To fasten the ribbon, I used a spot of hot glue on the inside of the book. On the second to last page in the book, I glued in an spare RSVP envelope we received when choosing our wedding invitation paper.

IMG_1887[1]

To start us off on our first adventure, I dropped $30 into the envelop, which was our gift budget.

The passport is a great go-to resource when we can’t think of somewhere to go. Plus, we can add left over money or specifically put aside money in our passport at any time. Matt loved it and even asked for another one for when we go to Northern Wisconsin. I guess that’s one gift I can knock off his Christmas list!

 

Leave a Reply

