Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Go Vote! November 3, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:16 pm
Tags: , ,

Go Vote (if you haven’t already)!  I don’t  prescribe to the old adage, ‘Vote early and often,’ but I believe in voting so strongly that I am posting this a day early.  That is unheard of for me, but if I can encourage just one more person to go vote, then it was worth my lack of sleep to get this posted.  I can proudly say I have voted in every presidential election since the time I turned 18.  Unfortunately, I have to admit I haven’t always voted in every election I’ve been able to vote in.  My excuse is that I don’t vote strictly according to party lines and if I haven’t had time to research the candidates, I feel it would be irresponsible to vote on people I know nothing about.  Luckily I found a tool that can help!  It’s a website called: ISideWith.com. This what the site has to say: Based on your political beliefs, this is your personalized voting guide to the local candidates and state ballot measures you should vote for in the 2014 midterm elections.

voted

First off you choose what state you are voting in.   Then it takes you through series of questions in the following categories: Social, Environmental, Economic, Domestic Policy, Foreign Policy, Healthcare, Education, Immigration, and general items specific to your state.  It asks a couple questions in each category with multiple choice answers.  The coolest thing is that you can expand the choices to more than a simple Yes or No.  This sounds so simple, but it takes the tool from somewhat helpful to AMAZING.  I am not a yes/no person.  I am a ‘sometimes’, ‘depends’, ‘let me explain a little more’ type of person.  There is also an option to mark each question anywhere from Least to Most Important which I’m guessing affects your results. When you are done you click a button and it spits out a list of candidates for each office (US Senate, House of Representatives, Governor, etc.) in order of who you agree with the most to the least (given in percentages).  I feel way more informed now and confident about my vote.  Now I just have to get up early enough to vote and get to work on time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

