Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

A Look Back At My 2014 Aspirations December 31, 2014

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 2:20 am
Tags: , , , ,

Here is a review of how I did on my 2014 Aspirations.  Many of the updates link to posts throughout the year in case you want to read more about them.  It’s kind of difficult for me to put this review out into the world.  In fact I think its my least favorite post of the year because I feel like I am sharing my failures.  I do it anyway though because I am trying to stick with the attitude that I do more than I would considering that I do share these. And so even if every aspiration isn’t reached, I am still better off than if I had set none at all.  Next week I’ll post my 30 aspirations for 2015.

.1. Get 7-8 hours of sleep every night

I have my good times and bad times with this one, but I am really cutting down on the 6 hour nights of sleep.  If I get less than 7 I usually struggle all day and I remind myself of that when I try to do ‘just one more thing’ before bed.

.2. Read at least twelve books and document
I read my twelve.  Being in two bookclubs helps me reach this goal pretty easily and it helps me to try reading new things.  Never thought I’d be reading reality TV Star books.

Drinking & Tweeting by Brandi Glanville
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Local News by Miriam Gershow
Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty
I am Malala:The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban by Malala Yousafzai
Skippy Dies by Paul Murray
The Witness Wore Red by Rebecca Musser
Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight
#Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso
Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman
The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai
.3. Try at least 1 new recipe every month
I have 18 new recipes I tried that were documented.  I am guessing I did more, but didn’t always remember to record it.  Here are links to the ones I posted on the blog:

Baked Broccoli Fritters
Zucchini Pasta
Shrimp Pasta
Egg Sandwich
Fast Chicken Fajitas
Cinnamon Biscuits
Fried Rice
.4. Write and post a on the blog every week

Yes!  This is my 52nd post this year.  This is one of the hardest ones I accomplished.
.5. Complete some type of service every month

I am back to only 5 months of service and some of these are a stretch.  The shoveling and babysitting are things I would already do just to help my family out, but I did include them because I told myself to relax and that every service doesn’t have to be an official event.

Jan– Resume Reviewer at Park District
March– Shovel Driveways
April– Babysit
May– MS Walk
Dec– Donated to Toy Drive for local town

.6. Try at least one Acupuncture Session
I need a recommendation for this. I’m too frightened to try out the Groupons at the local places.  Shouldn’t it cost more than $20 bucks to stick needles all over my body?

.7. Complete a sewing project

I did not even research or plan a sewing project.

.8. Learn to play 1 piano song beautifully

I recently found my Sara Bareilles song book, haven’t touched it in over a year I think.

.9. Travel to somewhere I’ve never been before
North Dakota!  It was a  business trip, but it still counts.

.10. Attend the new church I researched at least four times

I regret to say I did not even go once.  I’m a little frightened to try it and the location doesn’t help my reluctance

.11. Regularly practice Yoga & Meditation at least once per week

I started off very strong with Yoga and then as my stress went up at work that dwindled, but then I started in on Meditation and even downloaded an app to help me stay calm and relaxed.

.12. Attend a wine class
Katie and I attended a wine class in April.

.13. Go see a play I’ve never seen before
Karla, Lei, and I went to see Le Petit Prince at the Looking Glass Theater in February during Theater Week in Chicago!

.14. Join a local CSA and visit the farm my produce comes from

I researched local CSA’s near my new town and I never found anything I was pleased with.  Either they were a great program that cost too much or a cost effective program that had questionable reviews.  I may need to search out an alternative to this method.  Perhaps a mail order subscription service?

.15. Complete at least one craft per month

I did not end up doing one crafts/project per month, but I did do twelve overall.  I fit a lot in at the end of the year preparing for Christmas and all the wedding festivities I’ve been involved in.  I haven’t shared all the items on the blog, but if I did there is a link listed below.

February-Camera Strap & Valentine Heart Boxes

March-Jewelry Display Board

May- Food Passport

June- Washi Pencil cups

October- Homemade Vanilla Extract & Homemade Lip Balm

November- Lamp Shade & Wooden Utensil Favors

December- Christmas Crunch Cookie Jars, Christmas Card Lights, and Oh Shit Kits!
.16. Take a hot air balloon ride

Haven’t had the opportunity for this one yet.

.17. Learn to use snowshoes

My Valentine’s present last year was a day of snowshoeing!

.18. Start the new blog I’ve been planning

In concentrating on keeping this blog up to date, I have not started a new one.

.19. Take at least one class on Coursera

There were a few different courses I was interested in, but I really lost sight of this one when things got insane at work.  I felt too tired every night to add this to my things to do.

.20. Collect pieces, Design a layout, and hang up a collage wall in my living room

This is one of the most challenging pieces of decoration I’ve ever put together, but it was well worth it!

.21. Complete a scrapbook of my trip to NYC in 2013 with my sister

I love the part I did complete, but the title of my post about this says it all: Halfway There….and I never did scrap anymore this year.

.22. Do a spa day including at least 3 treatments (and don’t feel guilty!)

I never had a whole day with three treatments.  I had a massage and some manicures throughout the year, but the intention a day at the spa with a bunch of treatments so I did not achieve that.
.23. Learn to apply liquid eyeliner and fancy eye makeup

Took a class at Goldplaited with my cousin Cassie in June.

.24. Become more of a morning person

I did research on this and worked on some of the techniques suggested.  I know my issue is lack of consistency.  Some nights I sleep 8 hours, others 5 or 6.  Then I let myself stay up super late when I don’t have work the next day {tonight is a great example!} and have trouble going to sleep on nights when I have work the next day.  This one is definitely a work in progress.

.25. Create a workspace in my new bedroom

I bought a new desk and chair (both from Target) and I also added some artwork.  I try to not accumulate junk on the chair and surface of the desk so I will have room to work, but that is a work in progress!

.26. Host a themed party

I had my girlfriends over for a Christmas get-together after going to see Holiday Magic at the zoo this year.

.27. Learn to make my Nana’s sauce and ask her to critique it

I did talk to my grandma about this, but she told me to wait until the weather was better?  I think the thought of making the sauce overwhelms her.  I’ll need to catch her at a good time for her.

.28. Attend a midnight premiere of a movie

Never did this one.  I need to have a movie I really just can’t wait to see.

.29. Plan a trip and meet out of town for a girls weekend

Once of my saddest ones!  I discussed this with a few of my friends and researched some different places and where we could stay.  It just wasn’t in the cards for us this year.  I’m starting to think if I plan it and send out the information, some people will be able to make it work.

 

Leave a Reply

