Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Making My Bed – Check! January 5, 2015

Filed under: Kate — Uncharted @ 2:10 pm
Tags: , , , ,

The year is off to an outstanding start and I can’t be happier with my list of aspirations for 2015. I’m even off to a great start with making my bed every day. This was one of the aspirations I mentioned being really nervous about doing because I didn’t think I could stick with it. Now granted we are only 5 days into the New Year, but I am boasting a 100% record on achieving this goal… and it is AMAZING.

Before any of you say it… Yes, I am a huge dork. And yes, I may be overly excited about making my bed, but I got this idea from a Gretchen Rubin book (many of you know that I am a huge fan of hers) and I also did a little bit of research to back up my thoughts behind this aspirations. Did you know that “71 percent of bed makers consider themselves happy; while 62 percent of non-bed-makers admit to being unhappy. Bed makers are also more likely to like their jobs, own a home, exercise regularly, and feel well rested, whereas non-bed-makers hate their jobs, rent apartments, avoid the gym, and wake up tired. All in all, bed makers are happier and more successful than their rumple-sheeted peers.” I got this particular information from Psychology Today.

And you know what the crazy part is? I am happier when our bed is made. It makes it more inviting to sit on and read a book, my room feels cleaner and more spacious, I start out every morning feeling more accomplished AND when I go to bed at night, the sheets are nice and organized, so I sleep better. All in all, I’m happy I made this resolution and I am proud to say that I am keeping it so far.

How has your year started off? Are you sticking with your resolutions? Do you make your bed every morning?

 

2 Responses to “Making My Bed – Check!”

  1. eatinginmke Says:

    i totally make my bed everyday, and i feel like it makes a huge difference. whether it encourages me to go to the gym is debatable, but, i do find that when i come home from work everyday, it’s nice to see my bed made and my room looking lovely. it makes me feel more put together. if only i can adopt this habit of bed-making to dish-doing, then i’ll be all set! 🙂

  2. Uncharted Says:

    I totally understand on the dishes… I think I’d rather clean a toilet than do dishes! -Kate


Leave a Reply

