Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

Blue Apron March 3, 2015

Filed under: Kelly — Uncharted @ 11:28 pm
Tags: , , , ,

For Christmas, I bought my Aunt and Uncle a small subscription for a service that sends ingredients and recipes straight to your door.  I was intrigued by it and when I saw a coupon come up on Gilt City (like Groupon but a different company) I purchased three meals for two people from Blue Apron.

I created a login on their website and then started watching for a week providing meals that piqued my interest.  The way it works is you choose 3 meals for the week and they can send them for two ($60) or four ($140) people.  This feels a bit steep to me, but then again I had a coupon so I only paid $40.  I choose the following three meals for my first delivery: Lamb & Beef Shawarma with Radish Salad, Three-Cheese Cannelloni with Butternut Squash and Kale, and Crispy Chicken Thighs Kimchi and Maitake Mushrooms.  The delivery came on March 4th in a rather large heavy box.  Here you can see the opening process.

unbox

I was super impressed how well packed and organized this thing is.  On top was a letter telling me about the three meals being sent to me.  Then there were three illustrated recipe cards that tell you specifically what measurements you have of each ingredient as well as breaks down the steps to create each meal.  Did you catch the part about illustration? Pictures are the best part in my opinion, because then you can make sure you are on the right track!  Last night I decided to make the Shawarma so I thought I’d share my experience with you.  Here are the ingredients that came in my box:

ingredients

I followed all the directions to a ‘T’. Because everything was pre-measured for me, the hardest part was cutting up all the ingredients.  I was a bit disappointed because the cucumber and mint were not very fresh.  I had to throw out probably half the mint because it was already bad when I received it.  You can see it didn’t effect the final product too much.  My pita wrap was delicious and there was enough leftovers for another one the next day for lunch!  My favorite part about using this service is it won’t take much of my time and I still get to have home cooked meals.  I love to cook, but it usually takes me quite awhile to plan my meals for the week, make a list, and then grocery shop for it.  All the decisions are made for me plus I can cut out the grocery store!  I don’t think I’ll do it every week, but it’s definitely a nice option when I have a busy week or want to treat myself.

complete

 

Leave a Reply

