Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

So Good It’s Gone French Toast March 17, 2015

Filed under: Uncategorized — Uncharted @ 11:29 pm

This past weekend was my grandmother’s 91st birthday and we held a brunch for her.  My dad mentioned wanting French toast as part of the menu and at first we thought it would be too time consuming. What good is a family party if you can’t spend any time with anyone?  I decided not to give up and did a search on Pinterest just to see if there would be another option.  Luckily I found a great recipe by Chungah at Damn Delicious.  I’m pretty sure I’ve duplicated some of her recipes before and they’ve always been very tasty.  It was really the perfect recipe because it allowed me to make the French toast the night before and all I had to do the next day was bake it!  Honestly you have to try this.  It’s stupid simple.

Ingredients-
1 French baguette sliced in ½ inch slices (I asked the bakery to cut it for me)
1 ½ cups milk
3 eggs
1 tbs vanilla extract (Chungah called for vanilla bean paste but I substituted)
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg

Sauce-
¼ cup butter
¼ cup brown sugar
2 tbs maple syrup

french toast

  1. Arrange sliced French bread in a greased pan.
  2. Wisk together the milk, eggs, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla
  3. Pour the mixture over the bread, cover and leave in the fridge overnight.
  4. Next day preheat the oven to 350 and bake for 30 minutes.
  5. While the bread is baking, melt the butter, brown sugar, and maple syrup together in a pan for about 2 minutes until its slightly thickened.
  6. Pull the bread out of the oven and pour the thickened sauce over the top.
  7. Watch the French toast disappear from the pan (all the French toast was gone. I’m not sure I’ve eve r made a dish that was 100% gone)!
 

Leave a Reply

