Uncharted

Friends forging a course together through the unexpected

House Hunting Update April 1, 2015

Filed under: Karla — Uncharted @ 8:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Sorry to report, no awesome beer adventures this weekend. Instead it was full of packing and cleaning. Here’s a little recap of where we are at with our house hunt. We’ve toured about half a dozen homes with no luck at finding our first home. However, I will say we’ve learned so much. From seeing what types of projects we’re willing to take on to understanding the different types of mortgages and finding out what we’re comfortable compromising.Plus we’ve have enjoyed a moments of “you’ve got to be kidding me” like the one below.

House Hunting

To keep me off the listing sites, Matt recommended that I start to pack. Back in March my goal was to do one box a week. Well, I hadn’t even gotten started until last week. So I did a little catch up and packed all of our fine china and other items from our china cabinets. Thankfully we saved a lot of the wrapping and stuffing we received from all of our wedding gifts. (A special thanks to my mom and dad for letting us borrow their basement to store it!)

Inspired by my packing, I thought I might as well start deep cleaning a few rooms in the house. My rationale was that maybe the cleaning wouldn’t be so bad when we do actually move. First on my list was the refrigerator. A little vinegar and some elbow grease, and the old beauty was shiny once again! Next stop was the bathroom. Armed with my trusty vinegar again, as well as some bleach, it was time to kick some grout butt. To help with the teeny-tiny cracks and crevices I used a toothbrush. Best idea ever!

We’ll see what I get done this weekend, although I think I’m going to take a break from “major” cleaning efforts and just focus on a few more boxes. And keep your fingers crossed, we have a few more houses to look at next week!

 

Leave a Reply

